Windows XP Edit w/ nLite Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2006, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default Windows XP Edit w/ nLite Help

Im trying to make windows xp the fastest and lightest that it can possibly be. I spent some time taking out alot of stuff with nlite but when i installed windows with my new CD, I could not connect to the internet because there was limited or no conectivity. In ipconfig i had no IP address, so repair failed. Im pretty sure i removed something that i need for internet to work properly. Ima post some screenshots of my configuration and feedback on what I should/need to put back in or what i can still take out would be appreciated.



__________________

Biggie578 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default



__________________

Biggie578 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

How do you connect to the internet? Wireless, through another PC, through a modem, through a router?
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Go here: http://www.dead-eye.net/WinXP%20Services.htm

He lists (in detail) what are good processes to remove, etc. Maybe turn all your disabled processes to manual, and start over?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

Ethernet. Cable modem ------ router-----ME (Realtek RTL8139 integrated)

as for the processes, the configuration shown in the 1st pic 2nd row 2nd post is fine because thats how my current windowz is setup.

What im not positive about is the Network thing (1st image 2nd post) or the service components (last image 2nd post)
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 05:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

*** Moved topic ***

You ought to get more responses here in the Windows forum instead of a hardware forum.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

Ethernet. Cable modem ------ router-----ME (Realtek RTL8139 integrated)

as for the processes, the configuration shown in the 1st pic 2nd row 2nd post is fine because thats how my current windowz is setup.

What im not positive about is the Network thing (1st image 2nd post) or the service components (last image 2nd post)

(thanks for the move)
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 03:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

that why you should remove xp components with nlite. you take the chance of stuff not working
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

nLite is a bad, bad program if you are not VERY WELL versed in windows OS, and networking

From what I've seen in your screens... you effed up the networking side of it pretty bad (removing modem drivers, removing IIS...)

What I'd try in this instance... Recovery Tool from the OS install disk.
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 06:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

well, im getting a new mobo/cup in a few weeks and want to format along with the upgrade. I burned a CD made with thoes settings and tested it on my PC on a blank 10gig hdd to make sure it would work properly when i needed to use it. I already feel like giving up and just using a regular CD, but i really dont want so ill leave all network components alone and put back some of the services im not sure and let u know how it goes. Its not really urgent that i get it working, i just want a lite, fully functioning OS ready for my new parts.
__________________

Biggie578 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.