Windows xp cluster? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04
Default Windows xp cluster?

Ok this may be too advanced for me and most likely asked before so if so just give me a link to where I can get the answers. I have 4 computers in my room all running windows xp. They are as follows:

800 Mhz P3 with 512mb ram
800 Mhz Celelron with 256 ram
750 mhz athlon with 256 ram
300 mhz celeron with 128 ram

Now I dont use all the comps at once and I really dont like using remote admin to go through all of them. I want to combine all the computers as one. So if I run a text editor or movie editor for example I would like the process to run on more then one comp if possible. If not then at least move the load to another processor so the computer im using doesnt lag. Ive tried a lot of programs to log into the other computers but thats not what I need. I need them all to run as one. If I have to change the OS for this to work then not a problem a have a lot of windows copys here(legally purchased) and I dont mind losing what info I have if I have to give it up.

Any help with be greatly appreciated. Thanx
__________________

Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 07:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

umm, sounds like your trying to setup a super computer. Do a google for super computer, also look up pooled resources and grid computing let us know if this is what you are talking about. However, if your talking about sharing network vpn than you're talking about load balancing (also known as round robin). This pretty much clusters multiple pc's into one web server. Now if just sharing work loads then look up distributed systems.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 08:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I am doing something very similar. The best and most supported os is Windows 2000 pro... Go here- http://www.windowsclusters.org/nt-mpich_guide.htm . It will help you alot.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 08:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

sounds like a Beowolf... with windows...
thanks for the link Lazerman!! i may be able to use this later
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 08:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Here is my thread- http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=35015

That is exactly what it is!
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.