Windows XP Can't Boot - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2008, 07:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Windows XP Can't Boot

I downloaded the program PE Builder v3.1.10a but am not sure where to start. Could you kindly guide me through? I have a blank DVD in hand.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 07:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Windows XP Can't Boot

Sure, it's on the site, but here you go:

# Make sure that your system has about 500MB of free disk space!

# Download the latest PE Builder version (self-installing package) and install it.

# Start PE Builder (pebuilder.exe). When you start PE Builder for the first time it will ask if you agree with the license agreement.

# Now PE Builder will ask to search for windows installation files. If you don't have your windows XP setup/installation files on your system you must insert the original Microsoft Windows XP installation/setup CD at this point.
The files you have at c:\windows are not installation files. They are your already installed files!
Click "yes" to start searching. PE Builder will now search all fixed- and CD-Rom drives for Windows installation files. This will take some time. When more than one valid location is found, a dialog will appear where you can select which location you want to use.

# At the main PE Builder dialog, select the "Burn to CD/DVD" option. When you are using an erasable medium, make sure that the "AutoErase RW" option is enabled. The "burn using" option should be set to "StarBurn". Select your CD writer device from the Device list.

# Hit the "build" button. PE Builder will now ask you to create a BartPE directory, answer with "yes".

# The license for your Microsoft Windows XP product is shown. Read it and agree to it to continue.

# PE Builder will now start building BartPE. This will take a few minutes.
You will see a lot of files getting copied and/or decompressed, the ISO image build and the data recorded to your CD/DVD writer.
If the data verify was correct and there where no errors reported you can boot the CD/DVD!
__________________

__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 07:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Windows XP Can't Boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitestick View Post
if you reset CMOS then you need to make sure that legacy USB support is turned on for the keyboard to work here.
I hit safe mode and a whole bunch of "partition(0)" something lines appeared on screen and then it just reboots after like 10 seconds.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 07:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Windows XP Can't Boot

Thanks for the info, I'll try it out now.

However, this PC is using Windows XP Home and the other computer is a Pro. Will this make any difference?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 07:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Windows XP Can't Boot

it sound like you've corrupted some system files. continue with Bugg's advice because windows repair isn't my thing most of the time it's easier for me to format.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 07:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Windows XP Can't Boot

I'm just not sure how successful it will be with his dodgy version of XP, but at the end of the day there really isn't much else to try...
__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 07:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Windows XP Can't Boot

I hope it's not as bad as it sounds such as having to get a new OS...
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 07:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Windows XP Can't Boot

Good Luck Jeff! - Keep us posted, although it's 00:54 (GMT) here and i'll be in bed in about an hour...or so!
__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 07:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Windows XP Can't Boot

The PEBuilder just said that building from an OEM (which is what this computer is) can mean trouble. I'm gonna pop in the disk right now and give it a shot.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 08:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Windows XP Can't Boot

Go for it! - You haven't really got much to lose to be honest Jeff...

Fingers crossed!
__________________

__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Edition Troubles ChemicalMonkey Microsoft Windows and Software 34 01-20-2008 09:26 PM
Windows boot nightmare. squirrellym Microsoft Windows and Software 3 10-06-2007 12:12 PM
Windows 'accessing' SATA drives before boot koosie Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-06-2007 03:07 AM
Takes 3/4 to about an hour to boot into windows (new hardware) Losluchadores Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-11-2007 02:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.