Windows XP black screen boot problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2006, 11:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Windows XP black screen boot problem

Hi all,

Last night I had to restart my computer and when I tried to reboot into Windows Xp I got a black screen right after the initial Intel screen and before the Windows logo comes on.

I'm able to go into my bios and I changed it around to boot from floppy and cd-rom. The system recognizes both my Windows XP cd-rom and my ultimate windows boot cd but right after it says its checking for hardware it goes to a black screen once again. So i cant even reinstall windows at this point and cant use the recovery console.

I tried booting up with a windows xp floppy as well, but after selecting safe mode, last known good configuration etc, it does the same thing.


Any ideas on what I can do to get this working? I'm at school and desperately need a working computer.

Thanks
__________________

Sunshine_54 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Slave the Drive in another computer, copy over all important data. ASAP. Once done we can experiment with your Drive.
Clear CMOS, put CD Rom as First Boot device, try to boot of XP disc Again. and Run a repair.

Its possible that the HD itself is dead, either Electronically or Mechanicaly. (Which btw, if it is, its doubtful youll be able to recover Data) Report back after backing up info and the other crap I said.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 12:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Ok,


I reset the cmos and tried to boot my windows xp cd but once again i got a black screen after it said checking for hardware. I didnt bother to back up my data since I only have an old laptop around here and dont care at this point.


What other options do I have?


This is extremely frustrating because it was working fine up to this point...I have been playing around with vmware alot but I doubt that has anything to do with it?
Sunshine_54 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 01:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

sounds like ur hard drive is kaput. ur best bet would be to do as mentioned above and slave the drive to see if it is in fact working. u can also just open the computer up to make sure all ur connections are firmly in place.
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.