Windows XP Activation w/ reformats - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2003, 10:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Post Windows XP Activation w/ reformats

First post but an important one:
I reformat my computer constantly, security reasons... etc. Windows XP give you a serial that you can only use about 3 times. What gives? If I format my computer 3 times in one year then I use up my serial number? I read in some places that one can copy the WPA.DBL file but the RAM size has to the be the same on the other computer or something? Can someone/anyone help me with this problem... ?


psychosis is offline  
Old 05-12-2003, 01:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338

you can just call microsoft and they will give you the unlock code. they do not ask for any personal information. all they ask is why you're reformatting again.

for simplicity, I would recommend doing the XP install and then immediately ghosting an image of it. It saves all the phone calls to Microsoft.

Seloce is offline  
Old 05-16-2003, 12:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2

thanks for the reply guys... hey seloce, how do i ghost an image of it? thanks again!
psychosis is offline  
Old 05-28-2003, 10:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469

microsoft has a db of over 80,000 keys, when you try to activate it checks against versions of these.
reinstall xp without reactivating

If you were to reinstall Windows XP, you normally must re-activate it as well, even if your hardware is unchanged... luckily, there's a way around this.

First, your hardware between reinstalls must NOT change..

XP keeps the activation information in a file named "wpa.dbl", which can be found in _:\WINDOWS\System32\

After your activating Windows XP, back this file up to a floppy or some other type of media.

Now, if you ever need (or want) to reinstall Windows XP, go through the whole procedure as you normally would. Once you get into Windows itself, copy the file from your media back into _:\WINDOWS\System32\... You may need to be in safe mode to do this,
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
microsoftne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.