windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2005, 05:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default windows XP

i just ordered new Pc form the net without OS (windows). i got new unused windows pro at home. my question is:
is it hard to install windows XP pro.
after installing windows XP do i have to install other drives and hardwares. is it easy or do i need experience.(i dont have any).
pleae guide me.
thanx.
__________________

hillal is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 05:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

As long as you follow the on-screen directions, it shouldn't be very hard. After you install Windows XP, you'll likely have to install Windows Updates if the WinXP you have is older. You don't need to install anything new, you just need to know about you PC. If you have any problems, post here.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default

but the PC is new and non of the hardwares have been installed. would it automatically install whwn i install window XP.
hillal is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

You don't need to install hardware like the processor and stuff. Those are things that are needed to run a PC. You won't need to install the keyboard and mouse either. If you have a video card, then you're going to need to install the drivers for it from the makers website, and you will need to disable the onboard video if there is any.

Install XP, then worry about those things.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Default

k, thanx buddy.
hillal is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 07:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I know you can do it! my girlfriend did on her own pc and she's not very gifted in the ways of technology... yet.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 10:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

haha if i had a girlfriend, she'd be a super techie...that is if i could get one
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 12:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default

yeah man dont worry its easy, just follow the instructions. if u try to install other hardware like a scanner or printer or webcam and they dont work then u just dowload the drivers from the manufacturers websites.
__________________

__________________
Dell Inspiron 9300
Intel Pentium M 1.73GHZ
1GB RAM
128MB ATI Mobility Radeon x300
80GB Hard drive
tariqadkhan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.