Windows XP 64bit really worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 02:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default Windows XP 64bit really worth it?

While buying the parts for my PC build i thought about buying a OS, however after looking into the 64 bit version of XP i was wondering if it is really worth it?
My PC specs will be the following:
Case: Thermaltake Shark(Black)

PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W ELT620AWT ATX2.2 modular sli compliant

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual core 4200+(socket 939)

Motherboard: Abit AN8 SLi fatal1ty nforce4 SLI(socket 939)

Graphics card: BFG Geforce 7800 GTX OC 256mb GDDR3 Vivo TV-out/Dual DVI (PCI-express)

RAM: Corsair 2GB DDR XMS3500LL Pro twin X(2x 1GB) CAS2

Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS edition

Hard Drive: Samsung spinpoint P SP2504C 250GB SATA-ll 8mb Cache

CPU Fan: Coolermaster hyper G+ RR-UNH-P0U1 cooler(socket 754/939/478/LGA775)

Im finding the 32bit version very good at the moment and unless there are some good reasons i dont thing ill use the 64 bit version.

What are the advantadges/disadvantages of the 64bit version?
__________________

Chris_PC is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

at this time it is not worth it. there are so many drivers out there that are not supported by it, theres all kinds of things..stay with 32 bit
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Yes it is worth it but you must be carefull. Before you buy all your parts make sure each hardware has 64 bit drivers and vista drivers. If all your hardware has support for 64 bit then there is no reason why you shouldn't use it. People assume it will work fine and do not check if their hardware is 64 bit compatible which leads to troubles.


If you have to chance your hardware doesn't support it you will have to find hardware that does and change your build. You may decide 32 bit is your calling as well.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 03:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

While were on a similar subject i read that i need a "system boot disk?" when starting my pc for the first time, how do i get/make one of these?

Also what is the difference between OEM and Normal Versions of Windows XP?
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 08:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

If you are the type of person that does not mind mucking around with new computer OS, then go for it.

If you are the type of persion that just wants your computer working as it's suppose to be working at the end of the day, then I suggest that you wait for Windows Vista.

There is a lot of Software Vendors out there that is not supporting Windows Xp 64 Bit. Eg. Norton Anti Virus.

There is a lot of Windows Xp 64 Bit hardware drivers that are still in BETA Release too.

Over all, Windows Xp 64 Bit is almost like Windows Me in how it was an inbetween OS.

98 --> Me --> Xp
Xp --> 64 --> Vista.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Is anyone able to answer my question about a system boot disk?
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Place diskette in the computer.

Open My Computer and right click the A: drive and click Format.

In the Format window check Create an MS-DOS startup disk.

Click Start

Read more: http://www.computerhope.com/boot.htm
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 04:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

there is also an option to Create Windows XP Setup diskettes on that link.
However the download will not start, and will be to big to fit onto a floppy disk anyway.
Is the MS-DOS thing all i need then?
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 04:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

If you want a boot disc to boot into windows at the prompt with network and cdrom access, then the DOS boot disc is good. It appears to me that you may be a little confused as to the reason for the boot disc in the first place>?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 04:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
If you want a boot disc to boot into windows at the prompt with network and cdrom access, then the DOS boot disc is good. It appears to me that you may be a little confused as to the reason for the boot disc in the first place>?
LOL, completely right, I just read somewhere that when i boot up for the first time i will need a 'system boot disk'. I just wanted to know what it is and where i can get one.
__________________

Chris_PC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.