Windows XP 64bit OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2004, 11:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default Windows XP 64bit OS

Hey, are any of you guys using WIndows XP 64bit edition with a Athlon 64 processor?

Is it any better than using the XP Pro edition?
__________________

Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I don't use Win64, but the beta that is downloadable now sucks for gaming. When the real version comes out, though, it will be a big improvement as the full capacity of the Athlon 64 will finaly be utilized
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

Hey I'm building a system similar to yours. I'm using the MSI K8t Neo board though. How's that X800?
Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Great, but don't play FarCry unless you have the patch. Without the patch, you will think that you wasted $400 on a video card thats worth crap. With the patch, FarCry with the X800 looks so good its like a dream.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

Hey, how much did your memory run ya? I'm ordering some Corsair 1GB 2x 512MB for $264. I haven't been able to find any 1GB memory modules at an agreeable price.

Thanks for the info on Far Cry. I'm just gonna go for the 9800Pro with 256MB. X800 is a little too much for my wallet.

I've been playing it on a 9700 and 2.26Ghz P4. Looks great with that setup. Can't imagine it being better.
Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I don't remember exactly, but I believe it was around $200. Go Kingston HyperX. Its fast and cheaper than Corsair XMS.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

Where did you order it from? The price I saw from my regular online dealer was $278
Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

An example of a hijacked thread....
chog is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

lol. mabye it was that high. I think it was on sale when I bought it, though. All I know is that I spent $1975 on the whole computer, I honestly don't remember the exact price of each individual part. What are your entire planned specs and pricerange for this system?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 01:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

Where did you order it from? The price I saw from my regular online dealer was $278
__________________

Aggdaddy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.