Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2005, 07:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Default Windows XP


I have recently bought a modem for my computer. My neighbour went to the computer
shop down the road to buy it for me - I got a real bargain at £99.99 ; especially as it's a really fast one -
14 killobits a second.

I am having problems installing Windows XP Home. I just bought it from PC World for £79.99 . I have heard
that I might need to purchase a CD Rom drive. I know ROM is inside the CPU but I don't know what on earth
a 'CD' is.

I know computers are moving on quickly but I noticed how antique computers cost more, so I guessed the must
be better and asked my neighbour to buy it for me - this was about a year ago now. It made made in 1986 -
that's the same year as my last Grandson was born! Funny how that happens. I can probably dig out a picture of him.

It had a new hard disk fitted by my neighbor the other week - twenty mega somethings I think.

My Grandson has included the following technical information to help me with this post (thanks son):

Name: Amstrad
Processor: Intel 8086 (8MHz)
RAM: 640KB
ROM: 16Kb
Monitor: Amstrad EGA Colour
Drives: 5.25" floppy drive
30MB ST506 hard drive
Secondary 200MB Maxtor 1600 RPM

Martur is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 18

me thinks someone is taking the piss!!!>>>>>>>>>>
lol...very good

demooseus is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

Ain't gonna work, ain't gonna happen, ain't gonna install
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 287

Haha, look at the requirements on the cd and you will see that there is no possible way that you will be able to install windows xp. Sorry dude, you just wasted 79 pounds.
\"Today\'s scientists have substituted mathematics for experiments, and they wander off through equation after equation, and eventually build a structure which has no relation to reality.\" Nikola Tesla
gab00n is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 09:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to Alex4R Send a message via Yahoo to Alex4R

Is this a joke?
Alex4R is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default this a joke or something?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 09:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
Shumway's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729

LOL I think someone's pulling our leg on this one
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 10:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

haha, has to be a joke....everyone know's what a cd is....even my grandma....
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 12:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
ohGrFreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak

yeah, it's a funny joke, almost 200 USD for a dial up modem!

To compare: I just bought a wireless router and a PCI card by D-link and the total was only 40 bucks! Also, my dial up modem that isn't even hooked up cost me a good 9 dollars USD.

ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.