Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2003, 09:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2
Default Windows XP

Hi,
I just bought a new computer with Windows XP Home Edition and am experiencing some problems with regards to file access. I created 2 administrator accounts but what is happening is that one is not able to access files and or directories created by the other. I read that if you are an administrator you should be able to do it. Has anybody had this kind of problem? What do I need to do? I dragged and dropped the folder into the shared documents folder and it didn't work either.
Thanks,
wtmachado
__________________

wtmachado is offline  
Old 02-19-2003, 12:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

The problem is that all Administrative accounts are not created equally.

When XP installs, it creates THE administrator account. This is the one that can see anything, do all, and has no one to answer to.

If you create another account with Administrative privilege...it's pseudo important. It can read all files and make all changes EXCEPT for changes in the THE Administrator account.
__________________

Seloce is offline  
Old 02-19-2003, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the reply.
How do I recognize THE administrator account. I am afraid I deleted it. What do you suggest me to do? SHould I restore my machine to the day I bought it?
wtmachado is offline  
Old 02-19-2003, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

You'd recognize that account becuase the logon name is Administrator.
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 02-24-2003, 06:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Which, in home edition, is only naturally accessible thru Safe Mode
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 02-26-2003, 07:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

hey mrdinkel just 2 let you know i think u got ripped on your computer, what are all the specs? {maybe u didnt} lol
A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 03-01-2003, 01:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Nah, I just am too lazy to type all of it.
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.