Windows xp.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 09:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Angry Windows xp....

Well I have been lurking here for the past few weeks and finally decided to make an account.....This is due to the fact that after i finally finished building my computer I tried to install Windows xp OS and upon it finishing I find out it is unable to run....I have tried everything but I think the problem is something to do with my raid configuration for my harddrives can someone please help me out because I am getting very frustrated....

Thanks in advance -Rodney
__________________

rodz cgl is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 09:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

You should have a floppy disk that says "SATA Drivers" or something along those lines. Put this disk in before you start your computer. When you install XP, the first blue screen says "Press F6 to install third-party drivers." You want to press F6. It will eventually come to a screen asking whether you want to select drivers or continue. I believe you press the S key. I'm not sure as it's been a month or two since i reformatted. A list will come up showing the drivers on the disk. Select the correct one, and continue with the install.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 09:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Default

I dont have a floppy drive :-/
rodz cgl is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Default

I really need this help please....
rodz cgl is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Then i believe you should be able to slipstream an XP disc with SATA drivers on it, but i'm not sure.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Default

would you be able to i/m me please?
rodz cgl is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Sorry, i don't have any IM programs. Because of my router, i get kicked off every 3 minutes of inactivity. You can email me, though.

lcn (dot) lax (at) gmail (dot) com
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Default

k i sent you an email
rodz cgl is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=223562

and

http://www.nliteos.com/nlite.html
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 10:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Default

ugh :-(
__________________

rodz cgl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.