Windows x64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 04:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Question Windows x64

I just built my first computer and i got an amd 64 and i was wondering if i should install x64 corporate or just stick with xp pro. what are the pros and cons?
__________________

ludachris is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Pros:

Faster speed


Cons:

Driver support
Not many 64-bit applications
Uses more memory


32-bit apps will run on XP64
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it will use your memory properly. reg xp don't work to well when you have over 2 gigs

warez had a post around here explaining why
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default

is it basicaly the same setup? are thrir any known problems?
ludachris is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 06:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

There are serious driver issues as far as I know, but I think that's about it. If I were you I'd stick to XP Pro...!
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 04:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: Windows x64

Quote:
Originally posted by ludachris
I just built my first computer and i got an amd 64 and i was wondering if i should install x64 corporate or just stick with xp pro. what are the pros and cons?
ASK NO QESTIONS TAKE NO PRISONERS, IF YOU BUILT 64, PUT FAT 16 ON IT. MAKES SENSE?
derrmc is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Winxp has flatform 64bits, isn't it? what's the benefit?
__________________
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\">Where we are today is a result of the choices we made yesterday.
Lets make the best choices today that we might have the best tomorrow.</font></b>
<font color=\"#FF0000\"><b>The road to success is always under construction.</b></font>
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\"> Everyday is a bad day, some are just worst than others.</font></b>
<font color=\"#FF0000\"><b>If you never learn to face your fears, you\'ll never learn to face life.</b></font>
<b><font color=\"#0000FF\">Live your life so that when you die, you\'re smiling and everyone around you is crying.</font></b>
time_come_back is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

Go with 64 edition, it had major driver issues, a few months ago, but i installed it the other week, the only driver i could not get was for my streamzapp remote, so i went back 2 xp coz that anoyed me, but i put this on my friends computer, hes been using it for the last few weeks, with no problems at all, and it runs beautifully, it boots fast, handles everything that he does, not that he really does all that much except play need for speed most wanted and download stuff, id recomend it.
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 08:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: Re: Windows x64

Quote:
Originally posted by derrmc
ASK NO QESTIONS TAKE NO PRISONERS, IF YOU BUILT 64, PUT FAT 16 ON IT. MAKES SENSE?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.