Windows x64? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2005, 09:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
Default Windows x64?

Hey guys, I just recently built a new rig from scratch. I opted to use an AMD Athlon 64 3000+ so I went ahead and bought Windows x64 Professional to reap full benifits of having a 64bit processor.

Now Im regretting my decision. Im having tons of problems.
-I cant install IE 6 SP1 (does not install on 64bit systems)

-I keep getting error messages while trying to instal Java apps, without Java I cant run Limewire.

-Streaming video embedded in webpages will not stream, it gives me a "Windows Media Player cannot play the file. If the file is located on the Internet, connect to the Internet. If the file is located a removable storage card, insert the storage card." error message when I click on Error Details.

-I cant get through to the Microsoft website to download SP1 and SP2. It gets to the point where it says "Checking if your computer has the latest version of Windows updating software for use with the website"....then it gives me this.
"The website has encountered a problem and cannot display the page you are trying to view. The options provided below might help you solve the problem.
For self-help options:

*Frequently Asked Questions
*Find Solutions
*Windows Update Newsgroup

For assisted support options:
*Microsoft Online Assisted Support (no-cost for Windows Update issues)


[Error number: 0x8009200D]"

How am I supposed to get the service packs if Microsofts website keeps giving me that **** message.. if I order the CD it takes 4-6 WEEEEEKS!

Im sure there are other things Im forgetting right now but thats just a few of the LIMITED things I can do on this **** 64bit OS.
__________________

Guernica is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Your problems are not all because you are using x64 I've experimented on a few of my friends and I must say I'm very impressed at the performance it can give you when you finally solve your driver nightmares.

I just got some cash and will be building a PC you can bet it's going to be x64 first thing I do is go to msdn and get xp x64 I've never had any large problems with it yet besides small annoyances which my friend now says is fixed.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 10:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

if you want 64 bit to work at 64bit right now, get linux.
otherwise use 32 bit windows. win 64 is too buggy now
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
Default

what kind of setup does your friend run? what kind of browser? I use Firefox right now. Im thinking about going to a Linux or Solaris OS and try those out. IF nothing impresses me then Im just going to go back to 32bit regular XP
Guernica is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://us.releases.ubuntu.com/releases/5.04/

they have a lot of linuxes
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 10:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I don't recommend Linux at all for a end user.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 11:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

why not? they have live cds to run the OS off of the cd. if he doesn't like it he can discard the cd. if he like it, he can download the install file and install it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
Default

how does linux work? Is it the same basic concept as Windows OS? Im kinda gettin bored with Windows, i want something with a new feel and look to it, not to mention less buggy. I cant even install ActiveX or Java, i mean wtf microsoft.

I might try out Linux before I get too far ahead of myself in x64
Guernica is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 04:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Linux is only to be used for "smart" computer users. You can't have activeX at all on a linux system and you cannot click to install files everything you do is command line that is the equivalent of using DOS for pretty much everything on windows.


I do not recommend it but I I can't stop you I suggest you do what Eric said and use a LiveCD to get the general feel of Linux. Then if you like it download Redhat or Fedora. I consider these to be the more easy to work with Linux brands.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

« CD's | win98 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.