Windows won't load my CD on bootup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2007, 11:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Default Windows won't load my CD on bootup

Allright, been having this problem for quite some time now.

I want to format my computer since it's going a bit slow & stuff, and it's been a year, so it's cluttered up with useless stuff... I backed up all my files on my second HD, and I wanted to format my computer, but it doesn't load the CD on bootup.

Things I have tried:
  • Get a new windows CD from the store I bought my computer from
  • Checked my BIOS and thrown around the boot order a few times, no success
  • Connect my CD drive instead of my CDRW drive and did number 2 again, no success
  • Tried calling them, they suggested some stuff, no success
  • Try to FORCE it by only putting my CD drive in the boot list in my BIOS, no sucess
  • Use a bootdisk, but it always said "invalid drive specified" when I tried going into my disk drive (both CD and DVD)

Anyone got an idea why it doesn't want to work? I don't feel like bringing it to the store and having to pay 40$ for a format while I can do it myself (did it before)


Thanks!
__________________

Forcemaster is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default

Make sure that when you have the CD booting before everything else, that you press any key when it tells you to. It should say something around the lines of "To boot from CD, press any key"... Hope that helps .
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 11:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Default

I knew that, but it doesn't give me any message like that =)

CD aint the problem either, it works on my sis' computer.
Forcemaster is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 11:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

when you go into my computer, do you see the cd drive?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 12:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
when you go into my computer, do you see the cd drive?
Yup, I see my CD drive, except it's labeled as DVD drive :|

DVD drive doesn't show up though, I guess I messed up on it's jumper or whatever.
Forcemaster is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 12:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Try this

1. Click Start, and then click Run.
2. In the Open box, type regedit, and then click OK.
3. Locate and then click the following registry subkey:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/System/CurrentControlSet/Control/Class/{4d36e965-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}
4. On the File menu, click Export.
5. In the File name box, type savedkey, and then click Save.
6. Click the REG_MULTI_SZ data type UpperFilters, and then click Delete on the Edit menu. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click Yes.

Note If this data type is missing, go to Method 2.
7. Click the REG_MULTI_SZ data type LowerFilters, and then click Delete on the Edit menu. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click Yes.
8. Quit Registry Editor, and then restart the computer.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 02:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Didn't work either.
Forcemaster is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 05:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

fix your master/slave configuration
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 05:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Checked that too, CD drive is master, DVD drive is slave.
__________________

Forcemaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.