Windows won't let me delete a 700 meg file - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2004, 04:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Angry Windows won't let me delete a 700 meg file

I have a file on my computer that definately is not running in the background and Windows will not let me delete it. It says "the program may be running in the background." I checked my task manager and it's not running.

It's just a .exe file...it's nothing special...not associated with Windows in any way. I don't understand.

If u need anymore info. just let me know...any help would be appreciated 110%.
__________________

powley is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Reboot, then delete the file. It happens to me all the time.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Powley welcome to our forum.

What is the application in question? And please atleast state the OS you're running.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Safemode - delete it. Done.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default

ohGrFreak: I tried that man...this f'in thing is stuck on my computer lol.

Lone Wolf: I'm running XP Pro...the app. is a game I tried to download off Kazaa- but after I downloaded it I realized it's not a zip file or anything...it's just a 700 meg .exe file (?). Weird. Anyway, when I try to run it it goes into a DOS window then says there's not enough memory to run, and shuts down.

I tried safemode too.
powley is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default

I also scanned it for viruses, etc. etc. None.

When I first got it I could move it around 'n stuff, but now I can't move it, rename it, nothing. Damn annoying.
powley is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

First shut down all applications. Start up the command console (similar to Win9.x DOS window). At the dos prompt, type the full path and name of the file. In other words if the name of hte file is abc.exe, then type the following w/out the quotes.

"del C:\programs\abc.exe"
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Sounds kinda like a worm, even though you scaned it. If i were you I would google it <filename>.exe. See if anything comes up.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default

YA BABY!!! THE B!@%# is GONE!

Ahem...

Weird cause I tried that before too...worked this time tho. Awesome- thanks Lone Wolf and everyone who helped.
powley is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 05:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

powley... which method finally worked??

Nikkon is on the right track. It could have very well been some type of a virus. Even though you deleted it, make sure there is no remnant of it. It woudl probably be a good idea to update your virus definitions and do a thorough scan.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.