windows wont boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2006, 03:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142
Default windows wont boot

Yesterday i just installed windows sp2, i shut the computer off for the night and when i went to turn it on today the computer gets to the windows screen with the blue progress bar and stays there permanently. I tried restarting multiple times, and safemode wont boot. Any ideas how to fix this or revert back to sp1?
__________________

jester6565 is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Have you tried Safe Mode?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

yeah try safe mode or sounds like a hardrive problem
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 09:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

guys... his post says "... and safemode wont boot."

check bios settings and turn off things you don't need.
also, check all connections, and reseat the ram

wait, wait.... you upgraded to sp2? that probably is the problem
try getting a copy of xp with sp2 slipstreamed
you should be able to do an install without losing any data
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 09:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Could try a windows repair might be a driver conflict.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.