Windows Wont Access Any CDs/DVDs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2007, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default Windows Wont Access Any CDs/DVDs

Whenever I open My Computer and try to access any cd or dvd (burned or pressed; doesnt matter) it errors out with this:



If I right-click the dvd and go to properties, it says the format is 'RAW'. But, if I go into the Device Manager and into the properties of the DVDrom and hit Populate, it gives the correct information about the cd/dvd.

If I try and read the cd/dvd in Vista, it works perfectly. If I use a program like UltraISO to rip the cd/dvd to an image, I can then extract the files and access what was on the cd/dvd. What can I do to make this work again?
__________________

__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

In XP go to the Device Manager and remove the devices. Then restart the PC. See if re-installing the drivers will help.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default

Tried that, and it still does the same thing.
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 11:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Have you checked the Manufactorer's website for updated drivers/firmware? Are the drives Region encoded?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 01:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default

The drive has the newest firmware on it, and it is set to Region 1, which is what it should be. Im only asking because I think the problem is within windows itself. I can access cds/dvds from Vista on the exact same computer just fine, aswell as ripping from the drive. It is only XP that wont let me see whats on the volume.
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.