Windows will not install on a SATA HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2004, 10:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default Windows will not install on a SATA HD

it just says no hard drive connected when i run windows setup

i have 1 120GB SATA Western Digital HD


slvrstang is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
HoLoCroN's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305

Do you have the disk that came with the drive?

During the OS setup, it will ask you for "third party" drivers, make sure you select that and pop in your disk. It needs the drives on that disk in order to recognize the drive.

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang

don't have disk
slvrstang is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 04:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807

Make sure your BIOS recognizes the new HDD before proceeding further. If it doesn't recognize it, you probably have the incorrect jumper settings. If it does recognize it, it's a different story then.

In which case you will need to verify that reports the full capacity of the HDD - all 120 GB. As Holocron said, you willl need the 3rd party floppy diskette when you install the OS.

(You might want to flash your BIOS from the MB manufacturer website if your BIOS doesn't see the HDD).
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 08:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

actually, best thing is to first ver that you're XP install disk is a newer one that comes with SP1, if using XP. XP will NOT recognize a SATA drive correctly unless it has SP1. You could always slipstream, but an easier way is to just go into bios, find a place in there (you'll have to do some detective work) for the SATA settings and set the HD to IDE compatable mode. Then finish the installation (I would disable the bios virus protection, too as a precaution). Once this is done and XP is finished (assuming it IS XP) then download SP1. After that go back into BIOS and reenable SATA support and virus boot prot.
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.