Windows Welcome Screen Woes - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2005, 02:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default

BUMP!
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 11:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

have you installed . net framework by any chance if so this could be the reason
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 12:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I have that same problem. Don't delete the .asp account. Its linked with your .net. It will no longer work correctly if you delete this. However I can NOT figure out how to get rid of that dam login screen.. Mine was all of a sudden just like yours.

I have tried everything other than a reformat.
: (
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 12:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

You don't need to delete anything......


1) Go to the Start Menu and the Run box.

2) Type in the following:

control userpasswords2

now click OK

3) In the new Windows that appears select the account you wish to make the primary logon.

Now uncheck the "Users must enter a username and password..." box.

4) Hit Apply and a dialog box will appear asking you to confirm the selected users password.

Click OK when you are done!
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 12:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

BASS, Thanks Bro I will try that when I get home.
- Ch3ers -
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 12:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Anytime
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 02:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
You don't need to delete anything......


1) Go to the Start Menu and the Run box.

2) Type in the following:

control userpasswords2

now click OK

3) In the new Windows that appears select the account you wish to make the primary logon.

Now uncheck the "Users must enter a username and password..." box.

4) Hit Apply and a dialog box will appear asking you to confirm the selected users password.

Click OK when you are done
Thanks a lot BASSMASTER, that worked for me!
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 03:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I got an error while trying to access userpasswords2
I tried:
userpassword
userpasswords
userpassword1
userpasswords1

im on xp pro .... im super confused.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 03:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

You forgot CONTROL


control userpasswords2

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 04:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

lmao im noob... thanks for you patience bass. you rock !
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.