Windows Vista/XP Booting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2007, 04:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default Windows Vista/XP Booting

I recently got a copy of Windows Vista business edition, i already had Windows XP installed on one partition which i was using previously. I installed Windows Vista, set it all up, but now i can't boot into Windows XP.

Is there anyway to get it to give me the option to boot into Windows XP again?
__________________

ftmscott is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 06:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It should have auto set up the Vista partition to include XP...

But google EasyBCD. That should help you solve this. Just add XP to the Vista boot loader.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default

As i understand it should have given me the option anyway but for some reason it hasn't. I ran that software, added Windows XP to the boot list, saved and then restarted.

My drive with XP Pro on is E:\ as shown



So when i added it, i put the drive letter as E:\

When i restarted, it gave me the two options, i selected XP Pro and it brought up an error. Something about ntldr.

I booted back into Vista and checked the boot options and the second option says;

Entry #2

Name: Microsoft Windows XP
BCD ID: {ba71c6eb-c0de-11db-a0ee-00138feff323}
Drive: C:\
Bootloader Path: \ntldr
Windows Directory:

Why is it labelled as C:\?
ftmscott is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

If you installed Vista by booting from the DVD, Vista automatically takes the C Drive. Even if XP already has it. Within Vista it will be C but within XP it will be D or E. While XP is C.

To fix the XP insert the XP disc. Go to the recovery console and do a fixboot and fixmbr. From there you will only have the option to boot into XP.

Get the boot info from the boot.ini and write it down. Then install EasyBCD and add the Vista boot loader. It should then allow you to boot into Vista. Then add the boot info you got from XP to that and you should be all set to dual boot.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 10:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Before i installed Vista, XP was originally on E:\ anyway, C:\ was my second partition that i used for storing media.

When i installed Vista, i deleted the C:\ partition and then installed Vista on the unpartitioned space on the hard drive and it automatically gave i the letter C:\ while it changed my E:\ drive to D:\ drive, which i changed back to E:\ in Vista.

I'll give that a shot and see if i can get it to work.
ftmscott is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 01:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Ok, so i loaded up the recovery console using my XP disk, it asked which one i wanted to recoverl

C:\Windows
D:\WINDOWS

On both of them it asked for an admin password, which i don't know. I have passwords on admin accounts but the recovery console doesnt recongise them.

Any Ideas?
ftmscott is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 01:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Wow. It sounds as if both isntalls went bad on you. I cant explain it. Have you tried the password with both? I assume so. The only suggestion i can have is to format and start over.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default

But Vista is fine, i'm running it with no problems or anything. I just can't seem to get XP to run, i've tried different passwords on both things but i have no idea.
ftmscott is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 05:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

don't any password. just hit enter on the recovery console. you delete the boot.ini on c when you install vista. go to folders options in vista and check "show hidden files" and uncheck "hide protected files" to see if you have a boot.ini on the e drive. I'll bet that you don't
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.