Windows Vista-->Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2007, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Makaveli
Default Windows Vista-->Windows XP

Ok,im sick of windows vista,its buggy,nothing works on it,no games work on it either, i bought this laptop at circuit city legit,and it says my vista version is not geniue,im done with vista


now,my cousin said there is a way to downgrade from vista to xp, but can somebody tell me the process? my cousin said its possible but i could have problems if i do itmyself because of drivers ect, but cant i just pop in the windows XP disc and install it?



thanks in advance
__________________

Makaveli is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

I'll be happy to swap my legit Windows SP2 XP disk for your Vista Disk

I doubt there is a way to downgrade.
__________________

Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Makaveli
Default

why would you want to get vista dude..its crap...my laptop is a great laptop overall, dual core processor , 1GB RAM, 256 RAM ati radeon xpress 200m graphics card(meh,not complaining,could be better but its still good)...


vista is cool for average use like email,school ect, but i need lots of programs, which offcourse dont work. if id use xp onmy laptop,itdbe so much faster though....vista is a preformance whore...
Makaveli is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Does MS still offer the downgrade option? Call them up and ask to downgrade to XP MCE.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

Which version of Vista do you have?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Makaveli
Default

Windows Vista Home Basic


Id do anything to downgrade lol,even pay....I dislike it so much
Makaveli is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

I assume its not OEM.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 12:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli
why would you want to get vista dude..its crap...my laptop is a great laptop overall, dual core processor , 1GB RAM, 256 RAM ati radeon xpress 200m graphics card(meh,not complaining,could be better but its still good)...


vista is cool for average use like email,school ect, but i need lots of programs, which offcourse dont work. if id use xp onmy laptop,itdbe so much faster though....vista is a preformance whore...

My desktop is better than that, and it was really slow with Vista.

Funny thing is that the BETA worked flawlessly..faster than XP at times.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 01:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Makaveli
Default

i just dislike vista...lol...


so is there any way to like downgrade to xp?
Makaveli is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 01:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

In the System area, there should be a way to retrieve the previous version of XP.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.