Windows Vista Widgets/ RAM question. Sort of a double topic thread. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2008, 02:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Windows Vista Widgets/ RAM question. Sort of a double topic thread.

Disclaimer- Please, no Vista/Gadget flameing. Some of us has capable hardware and like to turn on eye candy and other things when we're not gaming

First part-

What Gadgets are you guys running and what sites do you guys go to get your Gadgets? Currently I'm running a memory reader, hard drive reader, CPU core usage reader, a bubble where you type in stuff and the computer talks (haha, it's fun), and a run prompt, where you can use it as a normal Run box and also type in a www. address.


Second part-

RAM question. I'm running Vista Home Premium 64-bit and 4GB of DDR2-800 Patriot Viper Fin's @ 4-4-3-12 1T. The RAM reader one says this-

2961MB / 4093 MB
1135 MB / 28%

The top would lead you to believe I'm using up almost 3GB of memory by simply having widgets open and Internet Explorer. Which sounds extremely unreasonable. The lower part makes more sense and shows I'm using up just over 1GB of RAM, just over a quarter of it all.

Any idea on what the top could mean? It's the "Memory Meter".
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 08:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Widgets/ RAM question. Sort of a double topic thread.

I run several gadget. Clock, Weather, CPU Monitor, Date, 2 Picutre Viewers. I only get my gadgets from the Windows Gallery.

The RAM question. It happens. After a few days of running the sidebar takes up a amazing amount of RAM. That process alone can take up to 1.5GB of RAM. Close it down and fully exit it and then restart it. Your RAM usage will drop dramaticlly.

Swe your assumptions are wrong. I run my laptop with 1GB of RAM and the sidebar. It barely uses more than 512MB WITH a browser and several tabs open.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Windows Vista Widgets/ RAM question. Sort of a double topic thread.

Right now a process called "dwm.exe" is taking up most of it, 48,732k. Then iexplorer, and third highest is, of course, sidebar, taking up 21,120k.

I'm surprised it's not taking up more RAM then it actually is? I wonder how many widgets are possible to have open? I have downloaded a library of them in case I wan't to add or change ones later. I think just for the **** of it I'll put as many up as I can, I'm curious to see how much RAM this can really take up.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 12:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Widgets/ RAM question. Sort of a double topic thread.

dwm is the Desktop Window Manager also known as Aero. You can have 2 pages of gadgets as far as i know. There is the arrows at the top which will allow you to switch pages if you wish. I have not tested how many you can have as i dont like to flip pages to see the gadgets.

At one point i have had my sidebar taking up 2GB of my 3GB. That was a good one. :laughing:
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Windows Vista Widgets/ RAM question. Sort of a double topic thread.

Thanks for the explanation of dwm mak.

Haha, yea. Two pages is well,lame. Not very convenient. I'm going to tonight to see how much it takes up, I guess I'm curious.

2GB with the sidebar!! Bahahahaha. That's a LOT of RAM taken up.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 01:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Widgets/ RAM question. Sort of a double topic thread.

Not a problem. I usually am multitaksing when i get the sidebar to act up. Running things like WinAmp for music, WMP for videos, IM windows, XFire, Browser, Photoshop, along with several Explorer Windows open.

So yeah i have lots going on at all times.

Sidebar was takin up 2GB and i had to restart the machine to get control of it again. That was a fun day.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 09:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Windows Vista Widgets/ RAM question. Sort of a double topic thread.

Hahahaha. Finally got my comp to freeze.

Ran more then 15 gadgets, AVG scanning in the background, playing a song, more then 10 windows opened, and windows media center in the background. Oh, and two instances of Orthos. Doing CPU and RAM.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Widgets/ RAM question. Sort of a double topic thread.

Congrats i guess? :laughing:

At least you finally found your limit.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 03:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Windows Vista Widgets/ RAM question. Sort of a double topic thread.

Haha, yea. That's not realistic at all. My "limit" is much higher then I needed. But 2GB was too small IMO, especially since I use 2.55 while gaming, I could have gone 3GB, but I wanted 2x dimms open.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Alt+Tab Question bobafett573 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 12-08-2007 03:58 PM
The Vista Death Watch EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 112 11-20-2007 12:20 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Windows Vista Networking Question seanramdeo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-25-2007 07:11 AM
Windows Vista qucik question? Dio1080 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-15-2007 06:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.