Windows Vista Ultimate - Problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2008, 11:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Windows Vista Ultimate - Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Oddly enough i do. I cant delete it either. Taken up 3GB of space for nothing. Have to check how to fully disable Hibernation and delete that file. Found it.


Code:
powercfg.exe /hibernate off
That turns it off fully and gets rid of the hiberfil.sys file as well.

Yes, that's a variation of what I said above. Both will work. I turned it on and those missing items appeared in my menu just like your screen shot. But back off it goes. :laughing:
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 11:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Ultimate - Problem

Ahh. Yes i see what you are saying now. I knew the option was there. Didnt realize that even if you turned it off via that option that the file was still there taking up space.

Nice catch.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 03:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Windows Vista Ultimate - Problem

Alright , did it all. Still using space, i'll go to XP, I'll move over to Vista when I don't need to scatter forums for dumb solutions, thanks for everyone's help.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 09:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Ultimate - Problem

Well Vista should have more than 20GB. Even the home page says 40GB of free space as Vista does eat up space.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 10:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Windows Vista Ultimate - Problem

Alright , well i'm on XP , feels great though
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista SP1 Download Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 42 03-22-2008 04:23 AM
Windows Vista SP1 Refresh 2 is Vista SP1 RTM Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-12-2008 03:59 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
Windows Installation Problem ksmarks Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-07-2007 04:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.