windows vista ultimate - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2007, 03:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default windows vista ultimate


i was trying to install a program on windows vista ultimate. when i try to install the program i get the message "yu must be logged in as administrator when installing the program".

how do you login as administrator into windows vista ultimate?

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 04:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default Re: windows vista ultimate

i have gone into My Computer (right click) --> [Manage] --> [Users and Groups] --> Users --> Administrator --> Properties. and created an administrator account but i cant find the account at logon time.

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 04:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: windows vista ultimate

delete any account u have other than administartor and try again
bhavik_meghani is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 04:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default Re: windows vista ultimate

i right clicked on the program and ran as administrator and that worked.

but where has the administrator account gone?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 05:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: windows vista ultimate

By Default Vista created a "Limited" account when you install it. You do not get the Admin account by default. They do this to try and help prevent issues.

Remember that cute "Administrator" account you see when you login to safe mode? That's the built-in administrator account that's installed by default, and disabled by default too, after a little digging-in I made this tutorial that'll let you enable and use this account in normal mode, and with a little other tweak, enjoying an XP-like administrator experience, while UAC is left ON (or off, it doesn't matter), but with no prompts or right clicks.

For Windows Vista Ultimate/Business/Enterprise:

1- Click Start, and type "secpol.msc" in the search area and click Enter. (You may receive a prompt from UAC, approve/login and proceed)
2- In the left list, choose "Local Policies", then "Security Options"
3- Set "Accounts: Administrator account status" to Enabled.
4- Set "User Account Control: Admin Approval Mode for the Built-in Administrator account" to Disabled.

For Windows Vista Home Basic/Home Premium:

1- Click Start, and type "cmd" in the search area, right click on "Command Prompt" and select 'Run as Administrator".

2- In the command prompt type "net users Administrator /active'" (Note the capital "A" in Administrator) and press Enter, you will get a confirmation as "The command completed successfully".

3- Click Start, and type "regedit" in the search area and click Enter, navigate to: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Policies\System]
Double click on "FilterAdministratorToken" and set it to "0"


Now log-off, and you'll see new account named "Administrator" is available, click on it to login.

Now you are the master of your domain! I recommend if you're going to use this method is to apply it as soon as you do a fresh install of Windows, so you can simply delete whatever administrator you've created in the setup process, and make this one the "real" administrator for your PC, also you can rename this new admin account or change its password like any other account from "User Accounts" in the Control Panel.

A last note: Please apply this procedures only if you know what you're doing. Disabling security features in the operating system is not something recommended to the average Joe, and for sure I won't be held accountable for any damaging happens to your system or files resulting from running a full administrator account all the time.

From Tantawi @ Neowin

That will get you the Admin account upon log in.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 07:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: windows vista ultimate

M$ needs to put a radio button you have to click during a Vista installation. The two choices would be:
  • Yes, I know what I am doing and want to make my own blasted choices. (This option makes no changes graphically, but allows you to actually have full domain over your own computer.)
  • No, I am a complete idiot and need to be protected from my own stupidity. (This option would work like Vista already does, but would have "n00b" in the place of "Start" to alert anyone who may have to repair the computer at a future time.)

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 07:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: windows vista ultimate

try it in safe mode and maybe change n delet accounts

jay_bo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 02:57 AM
Windows Vista Upgrade uzi9mm Off Topic Discussion 18 07-19-2007 08:26 PM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 05:25 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 02:12 PM
Windows Vista Online kfc469 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 03-28-2007 06:37 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.