which windows vista package to get - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2007, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default which windows vista package to get

you can now pre order windows vista from overclockers but i dont know what package to get theres so many?
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Pick the one that best suits you.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvist...s/default.mspx
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

If you dont need Media Center then Business Edition is just like XP Pro. But if you wish for MC then try for Home Premium or Ultimate if you really want all the goodies.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default

i think il get home premium what you think
robina_80 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 12:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default

home premium is what i was looking into buying. I dont feel like having to trade my left arm with Micro$oft to get Ultimate. Here in Canada home premium is "rumored" to cost $199
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 01:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Home Premium is a good idea. It is one of the best for hte average user. It does have some bells and whistles but not all of them. So it is still worth it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 01:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

wow those prices are very good for OEM. Think ill be buying next month after i paid off my tv
Most people probably only need Home Premium so thats probably the best choice. I like to have best tho lol

(Vista can only be installed on one pc with same cd key right? hmm )
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 02:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default

what would you guys get between home premium and business i would choose home premium because i wouldnt need all the business side of it
robina_80 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 02:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to BryanJK Send a message via MSN to BryanJK Send a message via Yahoo to BryanJK
Default

Home Premium will suit most people. Heres what your missing out on not buying Ultimate
  • Help protect against hardware failure
    with advanced business backup features
  • Business networking and Remote Desktop for easier connectivity
  • Better protect your data against loss or theft with Windows BitLocker™ Drive Encryption
But the home basic is probably almost the same as XP, it doesn't have all there Eye Candy and stuffs in it... and the buisness doesn't really have much of the stuff you want at home.
...not really missing out of much eh? Unless your one of those people just want it because it's the best :)
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 - 3.5GHz
3024mb DDR2 778MHz RAM
160gb SATA + 40gb IDE
nVidia GeForce 7600GT (750mhz Core /1200mhz RAM)
Apeva X-Discovery + Blu Orb II + Zalman VGA Cooler
BryanJK is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 02:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default

windows vista home premium has got windows media centre in it but i dont hook up my tv to my pc and watch tv i mean i do media like watching movies, tv series and listen to music but i dont require windows business aswell because i dont need all the business functions of it what one should i get i dont know
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.