Windows Vista Home Basic locks up on install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2007, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Windows Vista Home Basic locks up on install

Ok guys, long time no talk to anyone around here. Anyways my brother recently got a copy of Windows Vista Home Basic, installed it on an older system, install went fine, no driver support for it so he sold the copy to me. Tried to install it on my main rig, and it just... Stopped at the Completing installation step. Went and tried it on a slightly older computer that met the specs required and it installed fine. So why would a newer computer with good specs not let it install correctly??? Any ideas?

MSI K9n Platinum
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
2x512Mb Patriot ram in Dual Channel mode
Albatron 6600LE graphics card
80Gb Western Digital SATA hdd...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

Number One Problem: Why did you get Vista Home Basic?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Because my brother had it and I paid him like $100 for it. So why not?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Try a new hard drive or optical drive.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I have, I even moved most my hardware to the other machines, and it all works... It is either my motherboard, RAM, or GPU that is causing issues...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

And this is an OEM or Retail of Vista? I know OEM might not work sometimes. My last copy of XP was retail, luckily.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Retail.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 12:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

[useless post]

Wait for Warez Monster

[/useless post]
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 06:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It is most likely the mobo. It probably doesnt have the correct drivers for it. Try and download any drivers you can from the manufactorer site and use the F6 to see if that will help.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 11:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I am never given an option to press F6 to load drivers. And it always does this at the last step, and only the last step, it just sits there, it dont really lock up... It just sits...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.