Windows Vista Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2006, 09:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default Windows Vista Help

To those windows vista people.

Im having a little issue with Shares and Connecting to network shares using the 5308 beta. I can ping the PC but i cant access the shares that other PC can access. All i get it a window that flashes then closes quick. When in the network centre i can see the PC but i can access the PC shares.

I have also created a share on the PC (vista) given full share and NTFS access to it. When from my XP i cant access that share!

Getting frustrated
__________________

__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 10:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

There has always been a issue with the networking capabilties for Vista. You can go out but never in.

This has been a known issues since Beta 1 build 5112. AFAIK there is nothing to do to get it to work from XP to Vista. I will ask around but i havent heard of any new networking fixes or anything like that lately.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 10:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

I had some idea it might be a bug. The thing is i cant go out. When I type in the UNC path it comes back saying share can not be found. I can see the PC and thats it.
__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well the fix back with Beta 1 was to copy the Network setup wizard from XP over. Either that or run it from within Vista.

Either way networking is still a issue with Vista. It hasnt been fully address as of the Feb CTP. Hopefully come the April CTP they might have some of these bugs fixed.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Use the "talk back" feature to send a bug or whatever they call it now.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Been done. I know me and almost everyone that is testing Vista that i know of have sent thid bug. We have tallied over 15 bugs in just over 2 hours with build 5308.

I know they want the bug reports but when they get so many of the same one they just get bogged down with having to read the same BS over and over.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

They are payed to do it so I have no worries.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

So what? Does that mean we should stop forum members from asking the same questions over and over since we are not payed?

Does that mean you like recieveing emails that are exactly the same for thosands of times?

Come on Tyler. Use a little common sense. If they are so busy reading all the same bug reports over and over again how are they suppost to fix it?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 01:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

Odd, they must have screwed something up........Vista is just 2003 with a lot of junk.
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 05:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

not really. Vista has been redesigned. The Kernel has had a major make over with more security. The fetures yes, but their is alot of behind the sene stuff.
__________________

__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.