Windows Vista Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2006, 12:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Windows Vista Help

Hello,

I am having a problem with Windows Vista. I am installing it using VMware Workstation, but I cant seem to access the internet. The system is runnig XP Pro and can connect to the internet just fine. Through VMware Workstation, (running the Vista OS) I can get a ip starting with 192.168.***.* (Get this using ipconfig) In Vista, I can also see the other 2 computers on the network. I just cant get Vista on the Net.

I can ping yahoo.com and get a responce. I get a "page not found" when using Vista. I just cant see to find the answer.

I orig had Vista installed on this computer ( same issue) but had to reinstall XP as I could not be w/o my system.

Any help or info on what I can do? Thanks for the info.

**I am running Beta 2 V5381**
__________________

SoloCon is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 02:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

anythign more about your internet connection? if you have a router, make sure that the router isn't giving out IP addresses in the 192.168.xxx.xxx range. set it to something like 10.0.1.xxx. This has the least amount of clashing...

just start with a discription of your internet to get started
__________________

__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 08:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Are you sure that Vista has the correct drivers for your Ethernet card? It may detect the network but it could be a limited connection that only allows for network use. Not internet use.

Since you are doing thru VMWare is doesnt really use the XP connection. Vista still needs the drivers to connect. See if you have the drivers from the Device Manager.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 08:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

You are correct, I am using a router and its giving out the ip starting with 192.168.xxx.xxx. The router is also connecting 3 other computers runing XP Pro. All 3 of these computers are running just fine. My ISP is Cox.

What else would you like to know?
SoloCon is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 08:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

@ Makaveli213,

Yes, my driver is listed under Device Manager for Vista. (Remember, this system is also running XP (Vista is under VMWare) The Driver in Vista is listed exactly like its listed under XP.

Thanks for the reply. Still trying to figure this out.
SoloCon is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 08:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I know what you mean by the driver were detected by the VIsta install that XP is using but there might be a updated version that Vista can use.

Not all drivers taht are supported by XP are supported by Vista. This has been the biggest downfall of Vista thus far. I have Tested every build since Beta 1 release in July and i still dont have correct drivers for my Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 02:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Can't seem to find a newer driver for it. Its a Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI Gigabit Ethernet Controller. From reading other boards, it is supported. Any info?
__________________

SoloCon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.