Windows vista and Divx - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2007, 08:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 216
Default Windows vista and Divx

Divx player changed my theme to windows areo basic, and now I can't change my theme back to what I had it set to before. How do I fix this?
__________________

madcat75 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 11:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Windows vista and Divx

just go back to the display settings and change it to aero
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 216
Default Re: Windows vista and Divx

Yeah I tried that, it wouldn't go back to the glass theme.
madcat75 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows vista and Divx

mine does that also but when i exit the theme goes back to glass
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Windows vista and Divx

I think I know what happens, Divx is not completely compartible with Aero as Limewire, so when it Runs Aero is disabled. You should select not to run it on startup or update it to a newer version.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default Re: Windows vista and Divx

Divx doesn't yet support Vista. It gives you that warning before you install it. Just get ffdshow instead, it is compatable and also works with vista.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 03:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: Windows vista and Divx

well vista should switch away from aero when you open Divx and it should switch back when you close it. So, make sure that Divx is really closed by looking in the task manager and ending any of the divx related processes.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 06:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Windows vista and Divx

use this.. it is much better and its works with pretty much any codec out.
Free-Codecs.com : Download K-Lite Codec Pack 3.20 FULL, K-Lite Codec Pack 3.20 STANDARD, K-Lite Codec Pack 3.20 BASIC : K-Lite Codec Pack is a collection of codecs and related tools
alexsabree is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 06:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Windows vista and Divx

Hmm, I downloaded DivX from their website and have not had an issue. Vista used to warn me via the UAC when it started, but adjusting the security settings for it fixed that.

What version are you running?
__________________

__________________
Vormund is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.