Windows Vista Discussion - Page 38 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2005, 05:07 AM   #371 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yay, that will be fun!

i believe ram is at least 40 times faster than hdd.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:17 AM   #372 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

This is probably how MS plans to run their apps 15% faster than WinXP but you need a hell of a lot of RAM. The most basic version of vista allows 0-8 gigs of RAM. and the Ultimate allows +120 gigs of RAM, can someone tell me where the average guy fits 120 gigs of RAM in his machine?
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 11:36 AM   #373 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Either that would be a server or a datacenter server. Average user would not have that much RAM in thier machine. That is for top end machines.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 02:54 PM   #374 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Either that would be a server or a datacenter server. Average user would not have that much RAM in thier machine. That is for top end machines.
actually they are going to implement this technology into every computer. Just think about how far have we came in the last five years
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 04:23 PM   #375 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i think 2gb and 4gb will become the normal.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 04:47 PM   #376 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
i think 2gb and 4gb will become the normal.
Ya then all the people with the 32bit versions will be stuck after that won't they?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 04:50 PM   #377 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I don't think to many users that microsoft is marketing to will have 32 bit systems by then at least under 50% will be 32 bit.


Also it better be more than 2-4 gig for the normal. Think about it RAM for the system is at a minimum 512 that means you would at least want a gig for the OS. Then you want a gig for your apps. Then you want yet another 2-3 gigs for the new features Vista will implement for faster app loading. I say a minimum of 5 gig would be great on the Ultimate Edition of Vista (currently the only version that uses RAM to incease speed if I"m not mistaken).
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 04:58 PM   #378 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

well I'm gonna try and get beta2 when it comes out in november or december or when ever.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 05:08 PM   #379 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

December 7th.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 05:09 PM   #380 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

yeah me too, heard anything about a price tyler?
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.