Windows Vista Discussion - Page 35 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2005, 03:49 PM   #341 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Here's what I think the minimum requirements should be for vista
1.3ghz processor
384mb ram
64mb video card
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 04:28 PM   #342 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

personally, i think there should be a setting (and i think there will be) so you can turn the visual enhancements down to a level of Windows XP or Windows 2000 so you dont need even a 64mb GPU. But 1ghz and 256mb Ram would sound right for Vista.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 06:24 PM   #343 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikee
Here's what I think the minimum requirements should be for vista
1.3ghz processor
384mb ram
64mb video card
Never EVER happen.

Vista is slow on a 2.0 ghz processor I run a 2.4 and can feel the penalties.

Vista uses 330 ram in it's current stat on it's own without any apps installed.

I haven't really explored video card comparisions of Vista.


I'm interested to hear what other uses think.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 06:58 PM   #344 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Ya but won't ms optimize the code so it won't use huge reasorces?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 08:11 PM   #345 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikee
Ya but won't ms optimize the code so it won't use huge reasorces?
since when do MS care about the users?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 09:01 PM   #346 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

It's not about caring for the users Eric. MS optimises the code on every version of windows to reach their aclaimed "uber productivity" they brag about. I forget XP boots 15% faster and loads apps 10% faster than 2K or are the percents reversed? Vista is aiming even higher. They have already optimised the code and will only improve it over time.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 01:57 AM   #347 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

it runs slow because its in beta. It should still be able to run just say on a 1ghz Machine but all the visual settings should be able to be turned down or off.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 07:30 AM   #348 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I think if it runs at 1ghz and has a good video card it should be able to run with the visual stuff turned on.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 01:41 PM   #349 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

ps vista will have a thing that detects what your computer's capabilities are and optimizes itself for that setup ie if you don't have a good enough graphics card to run the aero graphics it will be turned off audomatically.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 01:56 PM   #350 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Mikee that may be my problem as it never happened in 4047 but they could have implemented that feature in Beta1.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.