Windows Vista Discussion - Page 32 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2005, 02:09 PM   #311 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Is beta 1 any good for stuff like games, internet etc.
is it fast?
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 02:13 PM   #312 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

It's a Beta you have compatability issues thats a no brainer. Some games will not work some software will not work. Internet is using IE7 which looks like firefox still has it's bugs but I like it (yes I said I like IE for the time being). Microsoft's statments claim that

XP boots 10% faster than Win2K and runs apps 15% faster than Win2K
Vista boots 15% faster than XP and rns apps 10% faster than XP

I'm sure thats what they are aiming for as for what percent it is faster currently I cannot say.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 06:27 PM   #313 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
XP boots 10% faster than Win2K and runs apps 15% faster than Win2K
I never noticed any speed improvments whan I upgraded my dads computer from 98 to xp, It actually got a little bit slower.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 06:44 PM   #314 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Terrible install and I recommend you reinstall then anyone can notice a boot speed increase.

As for app speed it's kinda fuzzy how MS does it. You have to take OS XP's requirements and app speed. Then you have to take OS Vista's requirements and app spped.

I'll try to explain better

If both PCs run the minimum requirements for the OS then you should notice a 15% increase on speed. You have to take into consideration OS requirements. I suspect your dads computer is below XP requirements or slightly below.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 07:06 PM   #315 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

its over the requirements

amd k6 500mhz
192mb ram
10gbhdd
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 07:45 PM   #316 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I have no clue why then. But I do figure Vista's ability to shut down uneeded reasources when playing games will make it's way into making apps load and run faster also. Besides that there is always refined NT code. I'm not sure what else they are doing to make things faster other than these.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 08:21 PM   #317 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikee
its over the requirements

amd k6 500mhz
192mb ram
10gbhdd
it's your ram. xp is a resource, despite the minium requirements xp really need 512 ram as a minium. you can get by with 256, but as soon as you added a firewall and A/V you sucked up most of that.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 08:30 PM   #318 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

this vista don't seem to work with gigabit networking
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 08:36 PM   #319 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

An interesting point you brought up.

Windows NT4.0 and 2K use NT code, does not support 9.X
Windows 9.X (95-ME) use 9.X code, does not support NT
Windows XP uses NT code, does support 9.X
Vista/NT6.0 uses NT code, will it support 9.X or will that cause too many problems.


Notice: I know I promised a Beta1 review but I am rather lazy and school has started so it may be awhile longer yet.....
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 07:46 AM   #320 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

If i am not mistaken Vista uses the Server 2003 code not the NT code like XP. This has been an issue on some other forums i am on about driver problems. The response is always to gget the 2003 drivers since Vista is based off of that not XP that is why not all XP drivers will work for Vista.

I have also seen that Vista has issues with Nforce Raid systems. As far as i have seen no one has been able to get it installed on that type of system.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.