Windows Vista Discussion - Page 31 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2005, 12:14 AM   #301 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I know there are a few members who are currently using Vista. Thoughs of you who are using it do you think that we will be able to upgrade Vista this time. I had to reformate everytime I switched to a new revision (4047 5048 Beta1). I'm hoping I don't have to lose all my data when I upgrade to Beta2.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 12:18 AM   #302 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

isnt Beta2 going to be available for the public tyler?
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 12:19 AM   #303 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Are you using vista on your regular computer or do you have a computer that you test on?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 11:52 AM   #304 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Thats what they say.

I guess you can hope they have an upgrade from XP feature I'm curious if they have a upgrade from Beta1 Feature. Mikee I use it on my regular computer which is partitioned. The first partition is my OS the second is a second instalation of XP with my backup so I can restore the first partition when I want to to my "normal" XP with all my files. I got tired of compatability issues and dumped Vista but I'm planning on reinstalling it tuesday.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 12:06 PM   #305 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

so what happens when a updated version of the beta comes out, do you have to completly reinstall it?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 12:22 PM   #306 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Thats how it's been in the past 4047 5048 and Beta 1 did not allow upgrades. I'm wondering if Beta1 will be able to upgrade to Beta2.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 12:30 PM   #307 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

hahah hopefully. i'm going to multiboot beta2 when it comes out
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 12:57 PM   #308 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

As far as i understand it Betas will never have an upgrade feature for the fact that they want you to start fresh. That way they can get a clear picture of what is still causing problems. If you do an upgrade then it has the possibility of being from either the old or new version. That is why they have the beta process like they do. If they allowed upgrades then Vista would have been released already and we would have SP1, SP2, SP3 and so on.
Also the changes that have occured might affect the stability of the OS not allowing it to be upgraded. Such as file system changes, virtual folder changes, video drivers, sound drivers. Everything would have an effect.

As for Beta 2 all lanes are pointed toward the fact that Beta 2 will be public and some sources have said it can be as early as December 7, 2005.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 12:58 PM   #309 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

can't wait
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 01:47 PM   #310 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Not me though. Though the Idea of Beta2 is exiting I look at it this way. They are bringing back the side bar and other eye candy. Which is a good thing but will put performance issues on my system. In the other betas it was all about stability and code. Also the side bar and other eye candy has not been tested as good as the code and other features from Beta1 which may make Beta2 less stable than Beta1. But either way we need a Beta2 so users can correct the errors and report them.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.