Windows Vista Discussion - Page 29 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2005, 09:17 PM   #281 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Desktop CPU: 3 GHz Intel Pentium 4 processor with Hyper Threading Technology 530 (or higher) or 3 GHz Intel Xeon processor with 2 MB L2 cache, or AMD Athlon 64, Sempron, or Opteron 100, 200, or 800 processor, single or dual-core versions.
What about all the semprons and athlon 64s that run at around 2GHZ? thay arent that old
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 07:03 PM   #282 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Well aparently they are "too old for Vista".
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 07:33 PM   #283 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Desktop CPU: 3 GHz Intel Pentium 4 processor with Hyper Threading Technology 530 (or higher) or 3 GHz Intel Xeon processor with 2 MB L2 cache, or AMD Athlon 64, Sempron, or Opteron 100, 200, or 800 processor, single or dual-core versions.

Quote:
Originally posted by mikee
What about all the semprons and athlon 64s that run at around 2GHZ? thay arent that old
they will work on it just fine. it say 3 ghz xeon, which intels makes. it doesn't say 3 ghz amd
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 07:56 PM   #284 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

There is no way MS will make Vistas requirements that high. They wouldnt sell fast at all. Do you know of all the thousands of people out there running under 3ghz? That might be recommened. Thats not going to happen and I will type that in stone.

512 megabytes (MB) or more of RAM

• A dedicated graphics card with DirectX® 9.0 support

• A modern, Intel Pentium- or AMD Athlon-based PC.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 08:05 PM   #285 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I just hope that it'll run on my computer or I'm gonna be pissed
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 09:03 PM   #286 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Warez I can't agree with you more I also agree with Eric those are probably based on Intel Processors. I don't like the requirements myself as my graphics card will have no chance of running the final verson of Vista and I'm running a 2.4 Ghz processor.


What I can say it it's believable as in a year 2006 in the later quarters when Vista is released a 3.0 is probably low end and computers at rip off stores such as best buy have 516 Ram in them or something close to that. The general rule for computers in everything is outdated in 1-2 years. They may not be that high when Vista is released for new computers but the older computers will feel the pain such as my year 2000 PC.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 02:49 AM   #287 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i hope that microsoft has a "classic" option so it will run on older computers like 1ghz - 2ghz.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 03:04 AM   #288 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
i hope that microsoft has a "classic" option so it will run on older computers like 1ghz - 2ghz.
I hope so too.
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 08:31 AM   #289 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I'm sure I've read that they do somewhere. There is Areo, Areo Glass, Areo Diamond, and Legacy if I remember. Legacy is the same as classic the thing with Vista is that XP, 2003, and Vista are current Microsoft operating systems. A MS Legacy OS is now the official identifier for Windows 2K and below. I don't understand the entire Legacy deal myself but when I spoke to warez he said it would be Win2K and down and I agree with him.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:50 AM   #290 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

ok, why is everyone so worried that the next version of windows have such a high requirement? In fact, the required computer isn't very expensive if i buy it today (i can get such one for about 900 bucks Canadian, however.. if you get in best buy...)

a new vid card, Radeon 9000 Pro 128 mb would run the thing fine, and the last time i checked, cheapst such card costs about 40 bucks Canadian..

and most people will not upgrade until they buy a new computer, as most brand name computer comes with a OEM version of windows.. With the possible exception of windows 95, all version is slowly been adapted in a two year period (i know i'm still running 2000 until about 2 years ago..).. The current requirement in two years will become cheap computers.. If you want to be an early adapter, better prepared to shell out money for it
__________________

__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.