Windows Vista Discussion - Page 256 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2008, 10:51 AM   #2551 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 11
Send a message via MSN to L33t Masta
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

While flashing your BIOS does make Windows want you to reactivate it's a relatively painless process. Just activate it or call them up and get the code.
__________________

L33t Masta is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 01:25 PM   #2552 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

service pack 1 is supposed to be comming out tomorrow on windows update. I was wondering if the update size will be smaller if you have gotten all the updates prior to the service pack. I don't really want to have to dl the full update which is over a gig on my dialup
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 01:37 PM   #2553 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

SP1 for x86 is only about 450MB in size. For x64 it is about 700MB in size. That is the final size.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 02:36 PM   #2554 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

well thats good I guess, still pretty big for dialup
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 02:41 PM   #2555 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Microsoft has talked about offering the Vista with SP1 disc to users by snail mail. But sadly there has been no talk of just the SP on disc.
Yes it sucks for Dial up but it is not as bad as downloading all of Vista...
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 03:42 PM   #2556 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

I'm tempted to download it here because microsoft's servers are usually pretty fast but if that fails I am getting 1.5mbps wireless internet on the 28th I think
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 11:42 AM   #2557 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 65
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Is SP1 out yet? Do you just use Windows Update to download it?

Edit >

Windows Vista SP1 will report 4 GB of system memory (RAM) on systems that have 4 GB of memory installed

Finally lol, sick of Vista reporting 2.5GB.
__________________
============================================
Dell XPS 720 H2C Edition | Intel QX8650 Quad @ 3.66GHz | 2x Nvidia 8800GTX 768MB In SLi
4096MB 1066MHz DDR2 RAM | 2x 160GB 10,000RPM HDD In Raid0
1KW Dell PSU | Dell 2001FP 1600x1200
============================================
Highest 3DMark06: 17,281
Dell Boi is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 01:04 PM   #2558 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

You could have got 64bit
Nick is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 05:22 PM   #2559 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dell Boi View Post
Is SP1 out yet? Do you just use Windows Update to download it?

Edit >

Windows Vista SP1 will report 4 GB of system memory (RAM) on systems that have 4 GB of memory installed

Finally lol, sick of Vista reporting 2.5GB.
Okay now read this. It will REPORT 4GB. It will not allow you to use all 4GB.

That is a flaw in the kernel. Change change it with a SP.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:56 PM   #2560 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

sp1 just appeared for me now 86mb. its going to take all night and hopefully my internet connection holds up all night
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.