Windows Vista Discussion - Page 255 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2008, 12:55 PM   #2541 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Quote:
looks like ima have to call em up and wait for an hour on hold
Just hope you get someone on the other end you can understand. My last three calls for activation have been nightmares...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 01:05 PM   #2542 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

I think if you get those School ones (like the ones you get on School PC's) they don't need to be activated because they want them to stick with Windows
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 02:16 PM   #2543 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

is that enterprise edition?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 03:23 PM   #2544 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Just hope you get someone on the other end you can understand. My last three calls for activation have been nightmares...
well once whjen i called i didnt have to speak to a real person...i was talking to an automated person and it went really smooth!
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 03:37 PM   #2545 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

I have yet to have a single automated session work. Once the internet activation fails, I know the automated phone one will, too.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 04:49 PM   #2546 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

what do you do when neither the online activation and automated phone activation both don't work?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 05:11 PM   #2547 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

hmm, my reactivation worked fine...understood them well...but dang that india outsourcing, lol
I had to reactivate because customizing my mobo bios bootscreen is enough to do it...and I asked him if I fiddled with it again would I have to call...yes I would
I like fiddling with it...home photos of me and wife and family as bootscreen, loves it. Love Intel, and Microsoft!
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:56 PM   #2548 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

nice post count 1234

I'm going to wait until I get a Geforce 9 series video card and sp1 to activate again so I don't have to do it too many times
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 01:37 AM   #2549 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
M$ ****** me over again!! I just got this update thing from M$ and all of a sudden i reboot it asks me to reactivate and all of a sudden my key is in use on another computer WTF? This is legit windows vista btw

looks like ima have to call em up and wait for an hour on hold
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Just hope you get someone on the other end you can understand. My last three calls for activation have been nightmares...
ya my last day is tomorrow to activate Windows, so im gonna call all day after school (after 6pm) or im screwed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
hmm, my reactivation worked fine...understood them well...but dang that india outsourcing, lol
I had to reactivate because customizing my mobo bios bootscreen is enough to do it...and I asked him if I fiddled with it again would I have to call...yes I would
I like fiddling with it...home photos of me and wife and family as bootscreen, loves it. Love Intel, and Microsoft!
i just flashed my BIOS from 1.1 to 1.3, that must of did it n i have 1 day(s) left. I thought it was a bug or something, guess not.

what happens if i dont activate Windows Vista Ulimate?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 08:30 AM   #2550 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Yes flashing your BIOS will cause Windows to force you to reactivate. As it sees that as a change in mobo even though it was just a flash.

If you dont reactivate it. You will get Restricted mode in Vista. Basicaly you wont be able to do anything with it then. Wont be able to modify any files or anything like that.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.