Windows Vista Discussion - Page 254 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2008, 12:09 AM   #2531 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 220
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech-man View Post
I have one more problem to discuss...

when I try to shut down the computer from OS.. It won't shut down totally...
you know.. It's shuts down but power stays on.. so I have to manually press
shut down button on chassis for couple of seconds. any idea...wat's going wrong..??
I found a solution... when I unplugged wireless usb card ( wusb11, It works..but It's XP's driver..) So I think very well in vista.., anyway.. thanks for the help..
__________________

Tech-man is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 09:25 PM   #2532 (permalink)
True Techie
 
DarkMassacre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 174
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Got a Vista query. I know that XP Home edition can be hacked so that XP Pro features may be used. I was wondering if Vista was the same way.
__________________

__________________
And if we fall, we all fall, and we fall alone
DarkMassacre is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 09:28 PM   #2533 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Such as what? Ultimate features on Home Basic? No. There have been a couple of hte Ultimate Extras that have been hacked but things like BitLocker and the backup can not be hacked onto your PC.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 11:39 PM   #2534 (permalink)
True Techie
 
DarkMassacre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 174
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Ah alright. I just asked out of curiosity, I don't even have Vista.
__________________
And if we fall, we all fall, and we fall alone
DarkMassacre is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 11:00 PM   #2535 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 97
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Which OS do you think is best with gaming, surfing the internet, and everything else? Vista home basic or XP home?? I just built a new computer and now i need an OS to install on it so i wanted to know what my choices are...well to be more specific i wanted to know the pros and cons of both the OS's...vista home vs XP home...
Quicsilver87 is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 04:12 AM   #2536 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Again as i have stated several thousands of times. It is all personal preference. I can sit here and go thru the list but it will be different from every other users list out there. No single person can tell you the pros and cons of each OS cause it is personal preference. I prefer Vista. I like XP very much but i prefer Vista. If i had a choice, which i do, I use Vista more than XP.

The answers are all here. This thread has alot of info on Vista nad can answer every question you have. Just liek a search of hte forum fro XP Versus Vista will also net you results.

The only thing i will say. Is that Vista Home Basic is jsut that. Basic. It does not have any glamour to it. It only has the Vista Basic theme which is blue. Nothing more. No hacks to get Aero as they dont work.

So your best answer will be to do the research. The answers are all here.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 07:46 AM   #2537 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

only thing from Ultimate that can be duplicated for Vista Basic, is all the features Basic already has

except Aero, I'm sure you can get a WindowsBlinds theme and get to use it for WindowsBlinds, tell me if I'm wrong
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 07:55 AM   #2538 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Vista Basic is ok but just doesnt have the Flip 3D

There is this other thing that Basic doesnt have.. i Forgot what its called.. but you need Home premium to use it
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 11:20 AM   #2539 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Basic doesnt have Media Center. IT does not have BitLocker nor foes it have the backup feature which is in Ultiamte, Enterprise and Business edition. None of htose are a Ultimate Extra which can be put onto Basic.

Basic does not haev any features that Ultimate does. It can only get the Extras. Dreamscene, Texas Hold Em and that is it. Sorry Atomic but you are a bit off on your post saying that you can get everything for Basic that you can have in Ultimate.

Aero, BitLocker, Backup, and much more are in Ultimate rather than Basic.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 12:36 PM   #2540 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

M$ ****** me over again!! I just got this update thing from M$ and all of a sudden i reboot it asks me to reactivate and all of a sudden my key is in use on another computer WTF? This is legit windows vista btw

looks like ima have to call em up and wait for an hour on hold
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.