Windows Vista Discussion - Page 238 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2007, 01:07 PM   #2371 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Vista, x64
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to DJDarknez Send a message via Yahoo to DJDarknez
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

All this talk about DRM this and DRM that has me wondering....what will Vista be trying to do about my 27k mp3 files? Not to mention tv shows, etc....
__________________

DJDarknez is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 01:13 PM   #2372 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Vista does nothing. I have over 11K MP3's, DVD's, TV shows, among other things. Vista plays them all jsut fine. There is no DRM stopping them from playing on my CRT or my LCD.

Everyone has got their panties in a bunch over this DRM thing. There is nothing in Vista that has stopped me from viewing any of my files since Vista was a Beta. Still hasnt since it went final. that is from July 2005 to June 2007. Almost 2 years with no DRM problems. I think it is safe to say that DRM isnt that big a issue as we made it out to be.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 01:30 PM   #2373 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Also everyone note that Vista can play DVD's without the need to install programs such as power dvd, after you install vista you can just pop in a dvd to watch. This is one of the many small things I like about vista
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 06:32 PM   #2374 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

judging from my sig, i need to get XP Pro 32-bit to fix my computer, because i disabled my 9200 back in February n i replaced my default boot loading screen with a customized one back in November.

now, since XP Pro costs so much, both retail n OEM, would it be wise for me to just get Vista Ultimate 32-bit OEM since it's cheaper then retail? Vista Ultimate 32-bit OEM is like $40 or so more from XP Pro 32-bit OEM. I would to spend more money just to upgrade to Vista Ultimate 32-bit when SP1 comes out n would rather get Vista Ultimate 32-bit now, but as OEM, so can save money.

whew.....im done, a lot of typing on my Wii lol. If any of u smart, fellow geeks can help me out, i appreicate it.

last question, my friend said u cant uninstall OEM OS's once it's put on a HDD, same goes with changing mobos, this true?

-Wildside
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 08:22 AM   #2375 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via ICQ to babyblue10
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

hmmm wondering if this section is the rite place to ask about window vista? Anyway, my question here is if there any way i could view my all program the same way as window xp( start > all programs > ) You see in xp when i click all program, it will show all my program in a forward way but in vista the program stay there
babyblue10 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 04:39 AM   #2376 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Vista, x64
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to DJDarknez Send a message via Yahoo to DJDarknez
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

So far, not too impressed. Just installed in on a brand new machine (Intel 2.4GHZ Core 2 Duo with 4 gigs of RAM) and it runs better on my OLD machine (AMD 2.6 Single Core with 512 ram) than this one.

Maybe my expectations were too high, but I expected it to be done doing whatever it needs to be done before I could blink. Now, I can go make a sandwhich...
DJDarknez is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 04:55 AM   #2377 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by babyblue10 View Post
hmmm wondering if this section is the rite place to ask about window vista? Anyway, my question here is if there any way i could view my all program the same way as window xp( start > all programs > ) You see in xp when i click all program, it will show all my program in a forward way but in vista the program stay there
right click on bottom of screen>properties>start men>classic start menu

btw this wil make the interfce look really ugly
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 03:42 PM   #2378 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEnd187 View Post
right click on bottom of screen>properties>start men>classic start menu

btw this wil make the interfce look really ugly
ya i hate that white crap interface.... go google a new one
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 07:35 PM   #2379 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

hey, if any of u guys can answer my question, it will help me dearly. But ive made up my decision to copy n put/replace my corrupted/missing default boot loading screen, if possible. I will get Vista Ultimate when SP1 comes out, most definitely.

i made a thread about finding the default boot loading screen, called i386:

where is/are the default boot loading screen file(s) located at??!!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 11:10 PM   #2380 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

installed vista a few weeks back and i have to say it was worth the risk... i seemed to really "luck out" as most of the drivers i got for non-essential things were JUST released the day i installed vista :-)

i do have one complaint.... i never thought in a matter of a few years my computer would be so totally pwnd by vista.......

screen shot

check out that gnarly cpu meter on the bottom... pretty harsh for 2 gigs IMO (vista x64 ultimate and X2 4200+ s939), but oh well

that video converter isn't even active - a nice chunk of that was photoshop (which i had just closed to release some of the memory), but only about 30% of it was photoshop, it usually idols around 60% usage
__________________

__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.