Windows Vista Discussion - Page 234 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2007, 12:05 PM   #2331 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus w/ latest non-beta BIOS 0501, Intel E6600 Dual Core, Corsiar 2gig dual channel, Geforce 8800 GTX, Vista Ultimate 32 bit.

I have a problem with Vista and power management. My Bios settings are set to S1+S3 and windows power management is on but my PC will not go to sleep. The monitor and hard drives do go to sleep however and wake up properly when I move the mouse or use the keyboard. If I tell my PC to sleep through the start menu it does but then I can't wake it up properly. I think my PC wakes up but not my monitor. I saw something about voltages screwing things up with the USB mouse or PS2 keyboard so I tried disabling them from being able to wake up the PC but it had no effect, the PC still would not sleep. My wife's PC has an AMD FX-57 and an Asus A8N SLI Deluxe mobo and power management functions work perfectly on hers! I even double-checked and compared power management settings to see if I was missing something. Any advice here?
__________________

crazz2323 is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 03:29 PM   #2332 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Yeah, the only problem I have is when my puter goes to sleep or hibernate I can't get it back on. I have to restart it. Don't know what causes it or how to fix it. I just don't use it anymore.
__________________

__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 04:03 PM   #2333 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by plumber4578 View Post
Yeah, the only problem I have is when my puter goes to sleep or hibernate I can't get it back on. I have to restart it. Don't know what causes it or how to fix it. I just don't use it anymore.
same exact problem here
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 04:51 PM   #2334 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

I'm not too worried about it. It's a minor bug.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 08:49 PM   #2335 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Here's the deal on putting your puter to sleep with Vista. I tried it and it worked. I understand now. The only thing is that when I woke it up from sleep my temp alarm went off saying my CPU was 150 degrees celcius.

What happened to standby and hibernate in Windows Vista?
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 09:21 PM   #2336 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

ok now mine won't even go into sleep it just starts to fade out to sleep then flicks back to the desktop
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 01:11 PM   #2337 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

does anyone know of ms is planning on making the basic theme in any different colours, because the home basic users right now are stuck with just one and should just revert to xp because it is in my opinion better than home basic.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 03:10 PM   #2338 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

Why not use windowsblinds? It will isntall on Vista and you can use anything you want just like you did in XP. Also the UXTheme.dll hack also works for Vista as well. So you can do what you did with XP on VIsta to get a different theme.

M$ has made no plan of getting a different color yet.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 08:32 AM   #2339 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

With all the Microsoft-created confusion out there around when and even if the company plans to deliver the first service pack (SP) for Windows Vista, it's nice to see some concrete proof that Vista SP1 does exist.

The WinFuture.de folks managed to grab a quick snapshot of a machine running a build of Vista SP1 during one of the Rally talks at the Windows Hardware Engineering Conference (WinHEC) in Los Angeles this week. Plain as day, it says: "Windows Build 6001 Service Pack 1, v113."

A PowerPoint slide was also seen mentioning the existence of Vista SP1 during a WinHEC chalk talk on "The Future of Input" at this week's show. (The context: A shim for the kernel-mode driver foundation version of the digitizer driver will ship as a Windows Driver Kit sample in Vista SP1.)

Given all the mumbo-jumbo coming from the Windows brass lately about SP1, people were starting to wonder whether Microsoft might to try to go without one and just use Automatic Update and Windows Update Services to roll out all of the Vista fixes and updates. I guess this evidence clears all of that up!

View: WinFuture SP1 Article
News Source: ZDNet Microsoft Blog
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 10:10 AM   #2340 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Windows Vista Discussion

good news. hopefully we will see SP1 soon as well as better drivers for hardware coming out.
__________________

networkgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.