Windows Vista Discussion - Page 223 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2007, 02:16 PM   #2221 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

agreed^
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 02:44 PM   #2222 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

is this a good deal for ram?

http://megacomputer.ca/product_info....oducts_id=1009
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 03:43 PM   #2223 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

^^newegg rules http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145026

and vista will run fine with DDR400, since that is what i have
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 03:45 PM   #2224 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

newegg isn't in canada as far as I am aware...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 03:46 PM   #2225 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Newegg doesnt ship to Canada as far as i know. Plus why is everyone always looking for the cheapest? All that will do is cause headaches in the long run cause you got some no name RAM that was super cheap. Then you will complain cause it doesnt run right on your system.

Go to Crucial.com and get the best results for your system. From there you can shop around to sites that you know of that ship to you. Dont always look for the cheapest as it will only be trouble.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 03:48 PM   #2226 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I don't understand what the difference is with cheap ram and expensive ram but it won't make a difference for me since every stick you add takes the speed of the stick with the lowest speed in the system anyway
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 04:27 PM   #2227 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

dont get the cheapest. its crap, but dont get the most expensive cause you dont need it. go to www.tigerdirect.ca its the canada branch for tiger direct, they are great. look around at the ram from big name companies like crucial, kingston, pny, corsair and others and get a good average price. the middle of the line ram will always hit the sweet spot between price and performance.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 09:20 PM   #2228 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikee
I don't understand what the difference is with cheap ram and expensive ram but it won't make a difference for me since every stick you add takes the speed of the stick with the lowest speed in the system anyway
Because Cheap RAM 9 times out of 10 is just that. Cheap. The timing and everythign matters and they have their timing set to the lowest possible which will hamper your system.

Plus Cheap RAM isnt always made the best. They use parts that are rejected from other companies so that they can put out RAM cheaper.

In the long run you want the Middle RAM. Something that isnt the cheapest but you dont have to get the most expensive either. In the middle is fine since they use good parts and they ahve the timing all right.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 08:49 AM   #2229 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

i agree with Makaveli. you dont need the top of the line OCZ ram with its own heatsinks. a one gig stick should cost around $100-$130 for quality. and if you get luck you can find them on sale. try www.tigerdirect.ca you wont be disappointed.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:57 AM   #2230 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I came upon a very interesting post on the vista knowledgebase blog where the author was describing a very unusual behavior that he experienced with Windows Vista. She apparently was running a legit, fully activated copy of Windows Vista and decided to install the upcoming mmorpg game 9 Dragons which is currently in Open Beta phase.

After installing the game and playing for a while a message from Windows Vista popped up minimzing the game in the course of action. The message that appeared told her that her copy of Windows Vista was not genuine. She tried to reactivate the operating system but it would fail although she would supply the correct key that was accepted before.

After uninstalling the 9 Dragons game the activation was again accepted and Windows Vista was activated again.

If this story really holds true it is a remarkable one. Why on earth would Windows Vista revoke the activation - this would be the main questions that would have to be answered.

This pretty looks like a way for Microsoft to revoke the activation on systems that run known pirated keys or install software that would probably try to interfere with Windows Vista core processes.

http://www.vistaknowledgebase.com/wi...n-goes-too-far
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.