Windows Vista Discussion - Page 208 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2007, 11:44 PM   #2071 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
ya thats what i heard, My friend said he was afraid of limewire on vista becuase they can monitor what you do, and can get you in trouble.
I used LimeWire Pro on Vista RC2 and it ran fine, i wasn't paranoid.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 12:09 AM   #2072 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

Seems to be a bit of an infringment on my constitutional right to browse the world's information freely!! I guess it would be **** easy too huh... i mean what just a few million people reading billions of lines a day typed in by everyone using a windows computer.

I could do it in my sleep... i mean to make it work with millions of programs in all kinds of languages - machine and human.

While they're at it, i bet they threw in a keylogger or two, screen recorders (video of ur screen, that is), and other things, then put in a fancy interface and blamed the "high minimum requirements" on it.

And just incase some ******* wants to keep windows off the internet... they made it so you can always find an internet connection wherever you want to go so they can do all of this monitoring. They call it the MicroWAVE internet - it is used ONLY to monitor what you do with your computer and the central servers of this MicroWAVE internet have 10 yettabytes of storage to hold all this **** about nothing and where people have visited or run

sorry, it was too **** fun writting this ********
__________________

__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 12:20 AM   #2073 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
I used LimeWire Pro on Vista RC2 and it ran fine, i wasn't paranoid.

that don't mean anything. they did block a couple of things of the beta version, but they haven't even got started yet.

they can get on your computer and do things. like deleting that illegal version of office (and whatever else) on your computer or making your dvd burner inoperable
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 12:32 AM   #2074 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
that don't mean anything. they did block a couple of things of the beta version, but they haven't even got started yet.

they can get on your computer and do things. like deleting that illegal version of office (and whatever else) on your computer or making your dvd burner inoperable
That's some bs, that takes away from the hwoel point of a "PERSONAL COMPUTER" so u can do whatever you want with it. If i find out that htis is really true shoot i might just stick with xp.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 01:17 AM   #2075 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
That's some bs
I'm afraid not. if you had ever been paying attention(remember 2003?), they've been throwing hints around at doing this. well, now it's finally here.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...22#post1081622

http://www.sendspace.com/file/gtkivc
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 03:51 PM   #2076 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Well, today is Vista's release date. Wathing TV, I saw this guy explaining Vista to the "dummies", and oh boy, he didn't know what he was talking about (Future Shop Salesman). Somebody asked "What are the system requirements", and he's saying that they ALL need 512 RAM. What about the Home Basic? Somebody else mentioned that they got a new computer and was wondering if Vista ran it, and he should've pressed "Windows key+Pause".

Uhh...idiots.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 04:16 PM   #2077 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

well there maybe some truth to the limewire thing. on my setup limewire crashes the computer, but when i looked at the error logs it looked like a java issue, and not a M$ keeping you from pirating issue.

what we do know is that M$ is in bed with the record labels and the movie industry. but monitoring your computer, violates your rights (at least in America) and i doubt they would win that supreme court battle.I dont think gates is dumb enough to try it, with the thing about Sony's Rootkit, they could never get by with it. And if they are doing it, whem we find hard evidence, it will be a huge lawsuit, they will most likely loose, adn exveryone will go back to XP, buy a mac, or use Linux.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 08:04 AM   #2078 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

That Ain't Good...
I spied some bad news in our forums for some of you HP printer owners that are looking to go Vista.



We are sorry to inform you that there will be no Windows Vista printer driver available for your HP product. Therefore your product will not work with Windows Vista.




If you are using the Windows Vista operating system on your computer, please consider upgrading to a newer HP product that is supported on Windows Vista.




HP has numerous products on the market that support Windows Vista:


http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1151190
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 11:15 AM   #2079 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

how new is the printer?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 01:32 PM   #2080 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default thanks

wah wah nice topic
__________________

w-plaza.com is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.