Windows Vista Discussion - Page 201 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2007, 07:55 AM   #2001 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

how do i become a member of msdn... i want to play with vista for a while
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 09:31 AM   #2002 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

Well i have already got it. i have family that works for M$.

The first thing i noticed was the install takes forever and the installer just sits there for a good 20 minutes doing nothing. The OS itself is fine. it is solid as a rock. Runs fast. We have one test bed machine with Business edition at my school district. and it runs on a conroe powered laptop, but only has 512mb of ram. it runs slow. My best advice is have a gig of ram minimum and its good to have a dual core cpu too.

My specs are in my sig. Ive actually looked at the numbers and Vista uses about 10% less ram than XP does, on the same machine. I think it may be because Aero Glass is hardware accelerated 3D, its almost like it doesn't touch your ram at all, which is really nice.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 10:30 AM   #2003 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I found vistas install to be spot on not as annoying as XP and was done in know time. It still uses about 350MB of ram up to maybe 600MB although I have 2 gigs so its not a big deal people with 512 might feel it more though.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 05:57 PM   #2004 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Default

What is the date that it is going to release?
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 05:59 PM   #2005 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Heard that it's going to be in a week, so January 30, 2007.

http://www.osnews.com/story.php?news_id=14067
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 06:13 PM   #2006 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Default

Thanks for the quick posting...
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 06:13 PM   #2007 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
I found vistas install to be spot on not as annoying as XP and was done in know time. It still uses about 350MB of ram up to maybe 600MB although I have 2 gigs so its not a big deal people with 512 might feel it more though.
Well I have build 6000 the same that will be retail. im not sure about the beta however. on average on my rig it uses about 420mb ram. So if you had only 512mb then you could feel the squeeze.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 11:28 PM   #2008 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DerekGoodson
Thanks for the quick posting...

Just lucky.

Actually, Vista is now on sale at Newegg. Goodbye thread. Maybe we can discuss glitches, but asking for a release date is a no-no.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 08:37 AM   #2009 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Abedencetardup3 is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 04:20 PM   #2010 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

now before I wasted 200 bucks at newegg for vista ultimate, tell me if this is true

you can only use vista on one computer. if I fry a motherboard, I would have to buy another copy of vista for the new board
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.