Windows Vista Discussion - Page 195 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2006, 07:46 PM   #1941 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

The 2099 bios year change and install no longer works i dont think. Today 2 "critical updates" were done on Vista and i think this has been fixed. I now have 29 days till activation in which i need a key
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 02:06 AM   #1942 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikee
does anyone know what is going to be new in vienna anyway?
No one knows what is going to be in Vienna. The only thing we do know is that it will be a x64 OS. M$ will no longer support x86 after Vista.

@Mentalist-
That is correct they have pateched the 2 known cracks to Vista already. So now there is no way to get around the Activation or Timebomb.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:32 AM   #1943 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
No one knows what is going to be in Vienna. The only thing we do know is that it will be a x64 OS. M$ will no longer support x86 after Vista.

@Mentalist-
That is correct they have pateched the 2 known cracks to Vista already. So now there is no way to get around the Activation or Timebomb.
lol, of course they have^

I had just had a discussion about this, for some reason people think Microsoft is a bunch of retards, but they probably knew about both cracks hours after they were put on the web, and everyone should have seen this coming

lol, I'm just happy I can get a legit license through my school

aside from that, has anyone tried the speech recognition, it is incredible, you can almost operate the computer without ever touching it, and if you use voice control and the mouse in conjunction you can work soo much faster
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 05:35 AM   #1944 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Yes i have used the Voice Recognition. I love it. That is how i post most of the time.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 08:16 AM   #1945 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
@Mentalist-
That is correct they have pateched the 2 known cracks to Vista already. So now there is no way to get around the Activation or Timebomb.
Yep it was only a matter of time. No way would M$ have let this go lol.

That crack going round where you activate it on a different server also only works for business or enterprise editions. If you used it to activate ultimate then it would still say it was ultimate but it would actually be converted to enterprise or business meaning there would be no access to the media center as these editions do not have them.
This may be the case for you Juice Daddy
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:40 PM   #1946 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
This may be the case for you Juice Daddy
nay, for you see, I get a legal copy through my school
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:44 PM   #1947 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Juice Daddy
nay, for you see, I get a legal copy through my school
does the school provide it legally to you?

people sort of steal it from my school where they rip the sticker off the side of the computer and use the license key on their own computer because the school has corporate edition.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 06:12 PM   #1948 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

My school wont get Vista for ages i bet. Ill have well been gone by the time they do probably. They cant even keep the XP network up for longer than a week without problems xD. Our technicians are useless! Only got Office 2003 last year hahaha
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 07:17 PM   #1949 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I can't wait until my schools key gets blacklisted then all the computers ll go into reduced functionality mode
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 11:42 AM   #1950 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

lol that would be funny
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.