Windows Vista Discussion - Page 186 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2006, 01:26 PM   #1851 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Yes they do. Cause they do not need the high amount of support, drivers and software compatability than regular users do.

With businesses they mainly need Vista and Office to work. Which they do. Other than that they dont need all sorts of burning apps and drivers to work.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 03:35 PM   #1852 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I thought they made the drivers already, nvidia has drivers out already and when I have vista b2 alot of my things just worked right when vista was installed
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 04:59 PM   #1853 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

The drivers were built specifically for the Betas not for the RTM builds. Also alot of things did work but Nero gave problems along with quite a few other apps. I know i wouldnt be happy if i couldnt use all the same apps that i use on XP on Vista after it was released. What would be the point of upgrading if you cant use all the stuff that you are using now?

Plus it doesnt matter either way you look at it. M$ is releasing it to Businesses in Dec. To end users in Jan. Nothing we can do to stop them. As of right now i really wouldnt spend the $$ on Vista since it is so close to XMas. I will wait till after my taxes and get it.

Plus you have to remember it isnt just drivers. It is software and the 64 Bit drivers and software that all have to work. I know for a fact that there are still Tons of drivers that dont work right with Vista. Espically 64Bit versions. There is still a long list of apps that i use that dont work right in Vista. so there is still work to be done by developers before it can be released and ready.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 07:03 PM   #1854 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

So they just gave it to paul thurrot early then?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 07:55 PM   #1855 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

No. Paul Thurott was a part of the beta. He got a RTM Build right from them. He is one of hte "writers" that is on M$'s payroll. He gives them and their products some good reviews and he gets free software.

At least that is what i gather of Paul. He is wrong more times than not. My best guess is that he has a friend on the inside that gave him a copy of the build. It has been known to happen.

But i have also known Thurrott to use Leaked builds and download them like other people. Plus being in the Beta gets you special gifts. It could be that he was given a copy of the RTM. But i think it is more than likely that he got build 5840 which was leaked. If he has anything with a 6000 or higher i highly doubt it.

Plus those images could also be photoshopped.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 10:35 PM   #1856 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Allchin On Vista Security
Vista’s security features, telling reporters he’s comfortable letting his 7 year old son use a Vista box with no antivirus installed.



"I'll give you an example: It's my favorite feature within Windows Vista, it's called ASLR (Address Space [Layout] Randomization). What it does is, each Windows Vista machine is slightly different than every other Windows Vista machine. So even if there is a remote exploit on one machine, and a worm tries to jump from one machine to another, the probability of that actually succeeding is very small."

http://www.betanews.com/article/Allc...rus/1163104965
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 04:51 PM   #1857 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Here is a good joke for you guys. It was RTM on Nov 7th. It has already leaked to the net with a Activation Crack. the final build that was RTM'd. That is just so funny.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 05:01 PM   #1858 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

so your saying that is the REAL RTM release with a REAL crack
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 07:12 PM   #1859 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

where did you get that piece of news makavelli

Some one told me that the gadgets on the vista sidebar are xml applications. I thought XML is just a markup language which is used for displaying stuff.
how then is the clock or the mosaic game (for examples) on the vista sidebar done in xml?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 07:16 PM   #1860 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Yes that is what i am saying. I have had several people already confirm this with me.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.