Windows Vista Discussion - Page 176 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2006, 01:43 PM   #1751 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

http://www.iexbeta.com/wiki/index.ph...atibility_List
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 03:47 PM   #1752 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply makavelli

Warez Monster, what is the reason that MS was not willing to let security products being installed at the deepest levels(kernel mode)?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 04:27 PM   #1753 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I can tell you because of this. The Kernel is what controls the OS. If they allow products Kernel access that could leave the OS open to attacks. So if the Norton or McAfee product gets exploited then that could also leave the OS open for attack. Avast! doesnt need kernel access yet it still protects XP and Vista. It also does it much better than Norton and McAfee combined.

Norton and McAfee just want to have something that they can use to line thier pockets. They think M$ is not letting anyone in. But yet they dont say a word about Linux or Apple users. Wonder why...
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 06:11 AM   #1754 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply makavelli

i was under the impression that a beta release is a single release, but vista had multiple beta releases and also multiple beta 2 releases. is my understanding incorrect?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:01 AM   #1755 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

Hello

i have got RC1 installed on a machine, and i need to install RC2 on it.

i read that i cant just pop in the dvd and then install rc2 on top of rc1, but i have to do a clean install

an you guys tell me how to do a clean install of RC2?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 10:43 AM   #1756 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

you simply pop the cd in, and follow the instruction until it says what partition do you want to put it on (meaning don't upgrade). Select your partition with vista, click advanced options, and click format. Then install vista.
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 01:10 PM   #1757 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by savagenator
you simply pop the cd in, and follow the instruction until it says what partition do you want to put it on (meaning don't upgrade). Select your partition with vista, click advanced options, and click format. Then install vista.
thanks.. i hope it's pretty much easy.. :P
duayne is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 04:53 PM   #1758 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Installing RC2 can be done over RC1 but it is not advised. A clean install is always better.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 05:25 PM   #1759 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks

why is a clean install preferred, why doesn't installing RC2 get rid of ll Rc1 files?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:31 PM   #1760 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Microsoft has agreed to release more technical information to security companies so they can make their products work with Vista, Microsoft's next operating system due early next year.

Microsoft earlier said it had already released APIs - the information software developers need to make products which will interoperate with Vista.

The Real Opportunity for Achieving Performance in Delivering Government Services
Speaking in Italy, Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer told Reuters the information would be released later today - "Seattle time, not Rome time."

Presumably, Microsoft's change of heart has to do with recent discussions with the European Commission which led to Ballmer promising last week that Vista would ship in Europe and Korea - that the company had done enough to satisfy anti-trust regulators. For its part the commission pointedly said it was not "green-lighting" the launch.

McAfee and other security companies have accused Microsoft of deliberately locking out security rivals.

McAfee took out full-page adverts in The FT to complain about Microsoft's actions and has also complained to the EC.

Security firms are not commenting until they see the actual APIs the software giant is prepared to release.

More from Reuters here.

In related news, the European Commission told Adobe it should go and talk to Microsoft if it wants to know what changes have been made to Vista.

Adobe has expressed concern about the "save as pdf" feature. Microsoft agreed on Friday to make certain changes to satisfy EC regulators

http://www.regdeveloper.co.uk/2006/1...ista_security/
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.