Windows Vista Discussion - Page 169 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2006, 02:34 PM   #1681 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

I'm burning the disk now...

edit:

doesn't seem any faster...

the install took longer...

and none of my driver issues were fixed in this build...

__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 09-23-2006, 10:20 PM   #1682 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It is just a bit faster. Depends on your system. I noticed a slight improvement on my system.

Install only took 22 minutes for me. Best yet. Which drivers are you having a problem with. I was able to install with everything still attached to my PC. That is a first since i started using Vista.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 12:12 AM   #1683 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

I always have raid driver issues, but eventually get my xp drivers working for that...

my camera drivers don't work either... (Aiptek DV5900)

besides that... they still haven't "fixed" sound recorder...



anyway... when I installed 5600 it started out a bit slow, but as I continued to use it things sped up O.o

I haven't really had time to work with this build yet...

sadly, the install did take about 10min longer this time (probably just my pc though)
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 01:26 AM   #1684 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I can say that Vista does have a problem with RAID. That has been a known thing since Beta 1 (Build 5112). they still havent gotten that fully working yet.

Cameras and other devices such are the responsibility of the manufactorer. Not M$. Best bet is to see if you can use the current drivers in XP Xompatability mode.

I have my sound drivers fully functional and everything works just fine. What sound card do you have that the sound recoder doesnt work right?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 03:11 AM   #1685 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

the new build is wierd, i cant get the sound drivers from nvidia to work on it whatsoever

BTW these are the drivers for vista...
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 12:12 PM   #1686 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
What sound card do you have that the sound recoder doesnt work right?
my sound drivers work fine... I was refering to this:





the lack of functionality...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 09-24-2006, 12:39 PM   #1687 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

nvidia drivers dont work for this build at all. They just disable toe realteck drivers instead of work with them like the last build. But now the sound is fine with the other drivers, so its ok. (last build it sounded like crap)

BTW the WMP 11 uses an anti-distort function in its music. Right when its supposed to distort it quites down to make it clear. I hate it!
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 08:53 AM   #1688 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Could this be the 'spiritual' branding experience Steve Ball, group program manager for the Windows Audio Video Excellence team was talking about?

Even though the sound is unique, after playing it a few times, I've already gotten used to it. Somewhere through the deep tones, it still reminds me of Windows.

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 07:14 PM   #1689 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

looks like the update from 5600 to 5728 is almost nothing. If they made a whole build with nothing special improving that shows how bad microsoft it.
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:14 PM   #1690 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Visual Studio fix foxed by Windows Vista

A delayed update to Microsoft's application development suite looks unlikely to fully work with Windows Vista.

Visual Studio 2005 Service Pack (SP) 1 beta has been kicked out the door with the knowledge taht a "few compatibility issues" exist with the current Windows Vista code base.

Due out in the first half of 2006, the service pack was delayed for the Visual Studio team to iron out the problems. Eventually, they gave up rather than incur further delay, S. Soma Somasegar, a veep at the developer division, wrote in his blog. SP1 is now slated for either December or January.

Says Somasegar: "We had a choice to make internally - hold up VS 2005 SP1 till we get the fixes in or decouple and ship VS 2005 SP1 as soon as possible knowing that we have to provide fixes for some of those Vista compatibility issues later. Based on your feedback of having SP1 for VS 2005 soon, we decided to separate the two."

The problem appears to revolve around support for the .NET Framework 3.0 in Visual Studio 2005. Microsoft's IDE, launched in November 2005, supports the .NET Framework 2.0 with add ins for the .NET Framework 3.0 that will ship with Windows Vista next January and be used in Office 2007.

Somasegar, meanwhile, also tried to clarify the situation for legacy Windows applications and legacy versions of the .NET Framework and Visual Studio running with Windows Vista.

Microsoft is testing to ensure .NET Framework 1.1 and 2.0 applications run on Windows Vista but Microsoft won't support Visual Studio .NET 2002 or 2003 as development environments for Windows Vista. Developers can use Visual Studio .NET 2002 and 2003 on Windows XP to build applications that will run on Windows Vista.

This is potentially good news for the Eclipse Foundation, as it seems Microsoft developers will need to run different versions of Windows to build applications for new Windows Vista systems plus the millions of PCs running Windows XP and Windows 2000.

The ability to run Windows applications on Windows Vista, Windows XP and Windows 2000 is a cause Eclipse is increasingly picking up on. Eclipse is trying to appeal to Windows developers by saying its Rich Client Platform (RCP), which uses runtime modules for applications to run on Windows, Linux and OS X, will give them a single environment for building applications that are capable of porting between Windows Vista and older versions of Windows.

http://www.regdeveloper.co.uk/2006/0...l_studio_2005/
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.