Windows Vista Discussion - Page 148 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2006, 05:22 AM   #1471 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

No, it doesn't work. I can't load a 64bit app in 32bit windows.

Also, the only place to get it now is on MS' site. They have asked all mirrors to be taken down.

99th page.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 08:23 AM   #1472 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
Download a free trial of Partition Magic. Create a partition atleast 20Gb big. (make it logical, its as default anyway) then apply changes. When you reboot it will be there as 2 hdd's.
Copy vista to a dvd and boot from it. Then choose fresh install and select the partiiton you just made.
Better yet download Gparted a free linux based clone of partition magic.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 09:11 AM   #1473 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

What ever floats your boat
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 09:29 AM   #1474 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 67
Default

hey guys i heard something wrong with the internet connection of vista beta2 rite , just want to make sure before i install it in my com
__________________
cuong
snoopyAU is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 10:41 AM   #1475 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by snoopyAU
hey guys i heard something wrong with the internet connection of vista beta2 rite , just want to make sure before i install it in my com
I am posting from Vista Beta 2. I am not sure what you are asking/saying but I do not have internet problems in Vista Beta 2. It installed all of my drivers and connected to the internet right after the install. There could be problems connecting to the internet if there are no drivers for the way you connect (wireless card, network card, or modem)
mestizo122 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 11:30 AM   #1476 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Usually when you install the drivers that you had done with XP, Vista will automatically change the compatibility to run as in XP so there should be no problems.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 04:02 PM   #1477 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

No doubt you've visited the Microsoft Windows Vista webpage, and possibly you've run the evaluation tool to check whether your PC is able to run the version of Vista that will fulfil all of your needs.

In which case, the odds are that you're sitting there chuffed to mint balls, happy that your 800MHz CPU, 512MB of memory and DirectX 9 graphics card mean that you're good to go, while a TV tuner card gives you full access to Windows Vista Ultimate.

Think again sucker.

These are the minimum system requirements, rather than the basis for a recommended system, and just to put things in perspective, Windows XP Pro has a minimum requirement for a 233MHz Pentium processor, 64MB of RAM and 4GB of hard drive space. Just imagine running Windows XP on that sort of hardware and then consider what Vista would be like on a system that passes the Upgrade Advisor with flying colours. Exactly.

Microsoft is fully aware of this problem so it publishes a list of hardware with a low-ish limit to reassure the public that Vista won't be a hardware hog and then it distributes a far stricter list of hardware to its OEM partners to ensure Vista will run properly on the PCs that will go on sale in the coming months.

You can get full details by downloading the Windows Logo Program Requirements Suite which has just been updated to v3.01 here where you'll also note that Microsoft still refers to Vista as Longhorn when it is talking to the trade. Version 2.xx relates to Windows XP and Windows Server 2003.

The 1MB self-extracting download gives you an Excel spreadsheet and three Word documents with a monumental amount of information. Vista will ship in Business, Enterprise, Home Premium, Home Basic and Ultimate versions, which broadly speaking means that a PC requires either a Basic or Premium logo. But in addition, Microsoft has sub-divided the consumer and business SKUs into Desktop, Mobile, Ultra Portable and Ultra Mobile.

Further down the page you'll see that a desktop is defined as a PC that requires AC power for continuous operation, which is sensible enough, but then you have the all-in-one, which is a "system that has a permanently attached integrated display". Where did that come from?

A mobile is what we think of as a notebook - it has a battery. An ultraportable is "a mobile system that weighs less than four pounds or 1.814kg in the standard configuration", for example, a thin and light notebook, and an ultra mobile "weighs less than 2.5 pounds or 1.134kg in the standard configuration and has a seven inch or smaller screen size".

Add in requirements, future-requirements, if-implemented and future-if-implemented and the permutations become almost limitless. There's nothing to stop Microsoft from updating WLPRS version 3.01 in the coming months and it is certain to do so once 802.11n is ratified and HD-DVD and Blu-ray become realities, so let's take a look at the key points that jump off the page at us:

Graphics need to support DirectX 9
The main graphics output on an add-in card must be digital, however integrated graphics can use analogue
There must be network support, either with 100Mb Ethernet or 802.11g, or both
In the event that 802.11a is supplied it can only be in addition to 802.11g
All USB ports must support USB 2.0
Non-business systems must support HD Audio
Business systems need to support HD Audio from mid-2007
None of that should cause any of us concern. USB 1.1 is dead and 802.11a is only of interest to the Americans. It's a bit galling that your Radeon X850 won't be able to run the Aero interface but the pain will pass.

In the second half of 2007 things get a bit more serious when SATA interfaces must be at least SATA 2.5, HD movies must play back smoothly and there must be support for protected video content (i.e. HDCP). However time will tell whether HDMI takes over from DVI. In From 1 June 2008, integrated graphics are required to have a digital output which seems like an enormous detail for what seems like a cheap and simple update.

Windows Vista will also support booting from flash memory, which is where things get interesting. At first Microsoft ReadyBoost will support Hybrid Hard Drives (HHD) which have a chunk of flash memory in addition to the usual cache.

In principle, there is no reason why ReadyBoost shouldn't work equally well with a plug-in flash card that sits on the motherboard alongside the system memory or in an expansion slot in your PC or notebook. The problem is that you're relying on a third party to supply memory which will likely sit in another third party's reader with - possibly - another company's controller chip. When you're talking about photos or music files this isn't too much of a problem but it's a different story when you're using the memory for system files.

In the first instance HHDs allow Seagate and other manufacturers to retain control over the memory, but obviously there is no way for the user to upgrade or replace the memory unless they add a slot on the drive. If a PC or notebook is shipped with an HHD it must have at least 50MB of Flash available for Windows

http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2006/06...ista_hardware/
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 09:28 PM   #1478 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

The legality of hosting a BitTorrent tracker may be a gray area, but not for Microsoft when it comes to Windows Vista. The company on Wednesday handed down a cease-and-desist order to VistaTorrent.com, which was setup to help users download Vista Beta 2 without waiting on Microsoft's overloaded servers.

Those eager to try out the first public release of Microsoft's next generation operating system have struggled with slow download speeds and timeouts. The company has even recommended that users place an order for a $6 DVD copy rather than wait for the downloads, which have been intentionally capped.

The boiler plate letter, sent to VistaTorrent.com organizers Chris Pirillo -- a former TechTV personality and Lockergnome founder -- and Jake Ludington, specifically demanded the site stop distribution of Windows Vista Beta 2. It did not, however, ask the pair to cease using the Vista trademarked name or logo.

http://www.betanews.com/article/Vist...eat/1150397386
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 09:29 PM   #1479 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Microsoft has confirmed that its mobile version of Vista it will need a hybrid hard drive to run, when it hits the shops.

Microsoft slipped the requirement into a Windows Logo Device Program Requirements document that was released last week. Document V3.01 states "a minimum of 50MB of non-volatile cache must be available for use by Windows." It also specifies some pretty strict minimums for read and write throughput, stating "The NV-Cache must be able to perform sequential reads with a throughput of at least 16MB/sec, and sequential writes with a throughput of at least 8MB/sec."

It goes on to say that "16MB/sec is highly recommended" for the latter.

In clarifying the situation, Volish programme manager for Windows Client Performance, Matt Ayres, told TG Daily that Microsoft wants hybrid hard-drives in all Windows laptops from June 1, 2007. We don't think that's the launch date for Vista.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=32404
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 06:09 PM   #1480 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

test your pc's Vista Readiness here

http://pcpitstop.com/vistaready/default.asp
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.