Windows Vista Discussion - Page 107 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 07:06 PM   #1061 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
I hope I will have a new system by the time they release Vista.
Same here but I don't know whether to upgrade the one I have now with a new video card and vista or just buy a new computer with vista and chuck this one off an overpass.
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 07:09 PM   #1062 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikee
Same here but I don't know whether to upgrade the one I have now with a new video card and vista or just buy a new computer with vista and chuck this one off an overpass.
You should build yourself a nice system. I am not gonna upgrade my card for Vista. I would only upgrade it for games.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 07:19 PM   #1063 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I don't know how to build a computer (yet) but I might get something like a 6600GT in the one I have now because they will be dirt cheap by time vista comes out and a big hard drive. I don't need the very best gaming as long as games play decent.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 07:51 PM   #1064 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to drumerdudeman
Default

how did you guys get vista on your pc. i want to try it out on my computer but im not sure how to get a copy of the ctp
__________________
3.0 GHz Pent 4 w/HT
1 gig pc3200 RAM
Soundblaster live 24 bit soundcard
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
LG 16x DVD-R+R-RW+RW
ATI 9250 128mb Graphics
8-in-1 internal card reader
drumerdudeman is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 07:56 PM   #1065 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

DL it off bittorrent
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 08:55 PM   #1066 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Microsoft to Delay Windows Vista Release

By ALLISON LINN, AP Business Writer 46 minutes ago

SEATTLE - Microsoft Corp. will delay the consumer release of its new Windows operating system until January 2007, missing the holiday sales season and throwing some PC makers and retailers into turmoil.
ADVERTISEMENT

The delay in Windows Vista — caused by Microsoft needing more time to enhance security and other functions — will come as a blow to Microsoft partners who were looking forward to a new operating system to boost holiday sales.

Windows Vista is Microsoft's first major update to the company's flagship operating system since
Windows XP was released in late 2001.

"It's not the optimal situation, to be launching the next-generation version of Windows right after the big holdiay sales season," said analyst Joe Wilcox with Jupiter Research.

The company will release some versions of the new operating system for big businesses by November as planned, but the consumer version will be postponed until January, said Jim Allchin, co-president of the Microsoft division that includes Windows.

He said the decision to delay the release came after Microsoft realized that Vista would be completed several weeks later than originally planned, largely because of efforts to improve security in the new system.

That delay was enough for some retailers, computer makers and other corporate partners to say they would have trouble preparing for the holiday season.

"The fact is that we wanted everybody in the industry to be ready for this," Allchin told journalists and analysts in a conference call.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 12:55 AM   #1067 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

^^^^^ bummer... i was gonna ask for it for x-mas ^^^^^^^


Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Yes tommyboy that is exactly what they mean. You just fill out a small survey to get a serial then you can download it and try it out without being a tester like you have to be now.

It is like the IE7 Beta 2 that they released recently.
does anyone know more about this yet.... latelly xp has been crashing a ton and i can't help but think reformatting and putting vista on it could not hurt it anymore
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 01:32 AM   #1068 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well i would highly suggest you just format and reinstall XP. Vista is still in the Beta stages and with the announcement that it is delayed that only makes it worse. Vista doesnt allow for all apps that work on XP to install on it. Vista doesnt have full driver support. Also Vista doenst have a firewall/av that fully works with it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:16 AM   #1069 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 57
Default

Yo if i instal vista will it be on the add and remove programs or will I need to reformat my computer to get rid of it
gameover is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:46 AM   #1070 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Vista is a OS. Cant just install it like a game. You would have to format your PC to install it. Unless you have a partition available to install it on.

It wont be on you add/remove apps since you cant just install it under XP. You have to install it on its own. This is to take place of XP no to install under it.

No offense Gameover but if you dont know this about Operating Systems then i would steer clear of Vista for now. Too many bugs in it to try and get it to work right.

I just installed 5308 myself. Not to shabby. WMP11 crashed everytime i tried to run a movie. IE7 was okay. Other than that the same options i seen since Beta 1.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.