Windows Vista Discussion - Page 103 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2006, 04:46 PM   #1021 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well for some cards it will work. But the effects use a lot of resources. So even if they do patch it you still might not want to use it. Since all it will do is bog your system down.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 01:40 PM   #1022 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Microsoft has made no bones about its strategy to convince users to upgrade to more function-rich (and pricey, we assume) versions of Windows, as one of its strategies to keep the Windows coffers full. With Vista, the Redmondians are planning to implement a built-in upgrade mechanism, known as Windows Anytime Upgrade, right into the Windows operating system. Anytime Upgrade will allow customers to move to higher-end SKUs by obtaining a license from one of Microsoft's partners' Web sites.


http://www.microsoft-watch.com/artic...1933827,00.asp
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 01:52 PM   #1023 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
Microsoft has made no bones about its strategy to convince users to upgrade to more function-rich (and pricey, we assume) versions of Windows, as one of its strategies to keep the Windows coffers full. With Vista, the Redmondians are planning to implement a built-in upgrade mechanism, known as Windows Anytime Upgrade, right into the Windows operating system. Anytime Upgrade will allow customers to move to higher-end SKUs by obtaining a license from one of Microsoft's partners' Web sites.


http://www.microsoft-watch.com/artic...1933827,00.asp
In a way that's going to be horrible for micro$oft because people will find ways to hack the system and get ultimate upgrade for free.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 02:13 PM   #1024 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well since all you have to do is buy the Starter Edition or the cheapest one available, then use a crack or whatever to get the Ultimate Edition.

So you are right Mikee. This could be some very bad news for Windows Vista. Will make it a nice and quick target for hackers after its release.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 02:37 PM   #1025 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I have some stupid questions.

Minimum system specs for Vista?

Will microsoft offer a version to upgrade from xp pro?

will ge force 5200 card support its graphics?

Thanks

Nv
__________________
Every Day I Try To Learn
NewVincent is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 02:58 PM   #1026 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NewVincent
I have some stupid questions.

Minimum system specs for Vista?

Will microsoft offer a version to upgrade from xp pro?

will ge force 5200 card support its graphics?

Thanks

Nv
Minimum specs: I dunno but I've run it on my system (see sig)
but glass didn't work due to my video card beng slightly old

the 5200 will support it because the miimum for glass is 5100 i think.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 10:09 AM   #1027 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

does anyone know if M$ is going to make upgrade versons of vista to upgrade from xp, or if we can just upgrade using the full versions?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 11:43 AM   #1028 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Windows Vista won't have a backdoor that could be used by police forces to get into encrypted files, Microsoft has stressed. In February, a BBC News story suggested that the British government was in discussions with Microsoft over backdoor access to the operating system. A backdoor is a method of bypassing normal authentication to gain access to a computer without to the PC user knowing. But Microsoft has now quelled the suggestion that law enforcement might get such access.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 12:56 PM   #1029 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 80
Default

Will we be able to buy a OEM for vista like we can for XP, or will it take awhile?
__________________
Intel P4 3.4 @ 3.67(OC)
Evga 6600 300/500 @ 350/570
PNY 2X512mbs cl2.5
ECS motherboard
liquid cooling AWC-1
____________________
I\'m not a Geek..... I\'m a level 27 Palitan.
THE_VERN is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 06:38 AM   #1030 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Well since all you have to do is buy the Starter Edition or the cheapest one available, then use a crack or whatever to get the Ultimate Edition.

So you are right Mikee. This could be some very bad news for Windows Vista. Will make it a nice and quick target for hackers after its release.
why should i buy starter edition then use a crack to get the ultimate edition, u can download Ultimate Edition from Bittorrent for free without buying anything
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.