Windows Vista computer, is stuck right now at "Shutting down..." screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2007, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Default Windows Vista computer, is stuck right now at "Shutting down..." screen

I don't want to hold the power button this time. What do I do? It is stuck at this screen.
__________________

jonathanwest is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 05:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Windows Vista computer, is stuck right now at "Shutting down..." screen

Sounds like my old ME. That crap would either hang or bsod everytime i tried to shut down. If its stuck at shutting down, you'll probably have to just hard boot it.
__________________

veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista computer, is stuck right now at "Shutting down..." screen

How long do you leave it and have you installed any updates? With some of the Windows Updates it can get "stuck" at this screen for up to 10 minutes. At most for me was 5 minutes.

How long have you left it there before shutting down?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Default Re: Windows Vista computer, is stuck right now at "Shutting down..." screen

Indefinately, I've left it for hours before.
jonathanwest is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista computer, is stuck right now at "Shutting down..." screen

It definately sounds liek a update didnt take correctly. I would suggest trying to repair your isntall with the DVD.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Problem with PC gaming, Hitman 2:SA is off to the right, Windows Vista computer jonathanwest PC Gaming 4 06-13-2007 10:36 AM
Stuck on screen Max Power New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-31-2007 06:49 PM
Vista whoring nearly half my ram needlessly? Sydzy Overclocking and Modding 16 05-07-2007 04:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.